I Graduated From PT and Walked Across Lake Mendota! (Recipe: Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins)

So, Kyle told me I don’t have to come back to PT anymore!  He thinks I’m good to go!  Although, he did recommend that I come back for an A-Stem treatment after the marathon (that’s the deep tissue massage I have been getting).  He said it would help reduce any inflammation more quickly.  I’ll definitely be on that!  I’m all for a faster recovery.

I have been pushing my body hard lately, and I can feel it.  I have been sore since Friday.  That good type of sore when you feel like you have had a really good workout or two.  I didn’t exercise Monday (I was in the car for 15 hours driving back to Madison), and Tuesday I was completely exhausted and decided to steer clear of the gym for the very last day of 2013.  But I started off the new year strong.  I did 400m hill repeats on Wednesday, a 5-miler on Thursday, 800m sprints and Insanity Class on Friday, an 8-miler Saturday and a 12-miler today.  All on the treadmill.  Boring, yes, I am aware.  But my body is S-O-R-E.

Relationships

Oh, and Kim and I walked from Memorial Union to Picnic Point yesterday ACROSS Lake Mendota.  For real.  You can walk across frozen lakes when you live in the Midwest because it is that freaking cold.  There were snow mobiles out there and men using huge power tools to drill their holes for ice fishing.  So, we just walked right across!

IMG_4325 IMG_4326 IMG_4329 IMG_4330 IMG_4333 IMG_4335

I was told that the layer of ice on the lake is probably 20 inches thick right now.  However, there were a few instances where we stepped in a place where the top layer of ice was a little slushy and you sink a tad.  It gives you a mini heart attack every time even though you know that there is really 20 inches of ice between you and freezing cold water.

IMG_4327 IMG_4328

See!  I’m trying to EMBRACE the Wisconsin winter.  That is what people kept telling me when they heard I was moving here.  You will love Madison as long as you EMBRACE the winter.  Well, I’m trying folks!  Although, I refuse to embrace Monday’s forecast which has a high of -13*F with windchills of -45*F.  No, thank you.  I’ll pass on that one.

However, we have had two flyball practices in the last 4 days because it is just way too cold for the pups to play outside.  And when you have high energy dogs, they tend to go a little stir crazy in this weather.  We had an impromptu practice on New Year’s Day followed by a ride in Allison’s new wheels on our way to Perkins for dinner (described to me as a “cheap breakfast food place”).  Yup, breakfast for dinner!  The food wasn’t bad, but Allison’s new wheels are awesome!

IMG_3513

So, that’s what’s going on up here in the frigid state of Wisconsin!

Fun Fact: Did you know that Milwaukee once had more than 80 breweries and was the largest beer-producing town in the world??

Oh, and here are the last few pictures of my pups from 2013 that I never posted to the blog but I thought you’d enjoy!  I mean I enjoy them, but I am also a little bias.

DSC_4761 IMG_0180 IMG_2914 IMG_3374                            IMG_0342 IMG_0965                                                            IMG_0966 IMG_3248                                              IMG_4320 DSC_4596                                                    IMG_3025 DSC_4509DSC_4511 DSC_4516

Quote of the Day:

“For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.” -Steve Jobs

In other news, I made these Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins this weekend.  Not too shabby!  I like my Chewy Molasses Cookies a bit better only because they are thicker, but they are very similar.  And I just realized that I never posted that recipe!  That one will come soon!  This Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins recipe has been sitting earmarked in Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine since Thanksgiving 2012, and I just got around to making it.  Ha!

Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins DSC_4561

Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins

Ingredients

– 2 cups AP flour

– 1 tbsp ground ginger

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 stick butter, room temperature

– 1 cup granulated sugar

– 1 large egg

– 1/3 cup unsulfured molasses

– 3/4 cup raisins

– sanding sugar, for rolling

Directions

– Whisk together flour, ground ginger, baking soda and salt.

– In a large bowl, using a mixer, beat butter and granulated sugar on medium-high until pale and fluffy scraping the bowl as needed.  Beat in egg and molasses.  Beat in flour mixture; fold in raisins.

– Scoop dough into 1 1/2-inch balls onto a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Refrigerate until firm, 30 minutes.

– Preheat oven to 350*.  Roll balls in sanding sugar and place 2 inches apart on two parchment-lined baking sheets.  Bake until centers are just set (16 minutes).  Let cool completely and store in an airtight container.

Courtesy of Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Individual Workouts, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Graduated From PT and Walked Across Lake Mendota! (Recipe: Chewy Ginger Cookies with Raisins)

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions and Girl Scout Cookies (Recipe: Chewy Molasses Cookies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

