Jingle Bell Run 10K and Other Weekend Shenanigans (Recipe: Baked Ziti)

This weekend has been a jam-packed one!

It started off on Friday when I picked Allison and Michael’s other 2 BCs up from the boarding facility, and it hasn’t slowed down since!  Speaking of the BCs, they have been fabulous!  Watching 5 BCs hasn’t been that hard because they are all so good!  It’s the amount of dog hair that drives me crazy! 🙂

DSC_4512 DSC_4520                                  cal IMG_3285                                                     DSC_4528 DSC_4540    DSC_4545 IMG_3302 IMG_3338 IMG_3369

Then I had the Jingle Bell 10K which raises money for the Arthritis foundation!  Apparently the Jingle Bell Run for Arthritis was named one of the 21 most incredibly themed races!  The Hot Chocolate race also makes the list which I just ran in Chicago with Allison as well as the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend which I am participating in this coming January!  How fun!?

Luckily temps hit 20*-21* Saturday morning, so it wasn’t as cold as it has been here in Madison lately.  But it was snowing!  It was my first race ever in the snow, and I am perfectly okay with it being my last race in the snow.  The slipping and sliding makes me nervous that I’m going to injure myself again.  And it gives a whole new meaning to the lyrics “snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes”…the picture below of my frozen eyelashes was taken after thawing out in the car for 5 minutes!

IMG_3364

IMG_3346

IMG_3366

So, the last picture of me running has a little story that goes with it.  This was taken the last tenth of a mile of the race by my friend Todd.  I was just passing a little girl of about 8 or 9 years old who was running the 5K and she looked exhausted.  So I told her, “Race me to the finish! I bet you can beat me!”  The smile that lit up this child’s face was unbelievable, and she really put it into gear for that last tenth of a mile!  We crossed the finish line together and she gave me a high five while her face was still engulfed by her smile!  This sums up why I am a GOTR coach–the last 30 seconds of the race was my favorite part and completely made my day!

Speaking of GOTR, we got an email the other day highlighting fun facts about GOTR in Dane County in 2013.  Look at this!

  • 1,316 girls were served at nearly 50 sites throughout the county
  • Over $35,000 in scholarship funds helped support 310 girls
  • 8 new program sites joined the Dane County council
  • 350 coaches and over 700 total GOTR volunteers helped us provide an excellent GOTR experience

Isn’t that awesome?!?  I certainly think so!!

Oh!  As for other weekend shenanigans?  Kim and I went to see Madison’s production of “A Christmas Story” at the Overture Center.  It was amazing!  I don’t think I have ever watched the entire movie.  AND one of my GOTR girls was in it!

I also attended a UW Madison hockey game with Jess!  Hockey is a fun sport to watch!  And while I know that all sports take a lot of talent, I feel like hockey takes twice the talent because not only are you trying to score with a tiny puck as it slides across the ice but you also have to stay up on ice-skates the entire time, too!  Talk about difficult!!  But the game was super fun!  (Thank you, David, for the tickets!!)  We (being UW) even went into overtime!

IMG_3320 IMG_3347 IMG_3351 IMG_3354 IMG_3355 IMG_3363

In terms of running, I had a lower mileage week–39.13 miles. But I did cut two runs a little short. I think next week I should be putting in some more miles.  And still no pain!!

Quote of the Day:

“The race always hurts. Expect it to hurt. You don’t train so that it doesn’t hurt. You train so you can tolerate it.” -Lauren Fleshman

I made this easy Baked Ziti recipe and it is delicious!  Don’t you love it when easy homemade recipes turn out awesome!?  And it is perfect for this wintry, sub-0* with windchill weather we are having!

IMG_3148

Just sayin’.  This weather is only nice when you can stay inside eating Baked Ziti and baking cookies and reading a book in front of the fireplace while you watch the snowflakes fall outside.

Baked Ziti DSC_4523 DSC_4526

Baked Ziti

Ingredients

– 12 ounces uncooked ziti or small tube pasta

– 1 pound lean ground turkey

– 1 jar (24 ounces) spaghetti sauce

– 2 eggs

– 1 carton (15 ounces) ricotta cheese

– 2 1/2 cups (10 ounces) shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

– 1/2 cup grated Parmesan

Directions

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook ground turkey over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Stir in spaghetti sauce.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, ricotta cheese, 1-1/2 cups mozzarella cheese and the Parmesan cheese. Drain pasta; add to cheese mixture and stir until blended.
  3. Spoon a third of the meat sauce into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish; top with half of the pasta mixture. Repeat layers. Top with remaining meat sauce.
  4. Cover and bake at 350° for 40 minutes or until a thermometer reads 160°. Uncover; sprinkle with remaining mozzarella cheese. Bake 5-10 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Let stand for 15 minutes before serving.

Adapted from Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, GOTR, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jingle Bell Run 10K and Other Weekend Shenanigans (Recipe: Baked Ziti)

  1. Pingback: Stay Focused (Recipe: Pumpkin Dip) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Plantar Fasciitis (Recipe: Cook’s Illustrated Blondies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  3. Pingback: Holy Wind! And a Crazy Busy Weekend! (Recipe: Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

