Your Long Run is NOT a Race…But It May Be a Struggle (Recipe: Chewy, Fudgy Triple Chocolate Brownies)

I had a not so great long run on Sunday.  I was supposed to go 16 miles.  I am in that running group I have mentioned before, so I showed up to the location chosen by the running coach only to realize that I had forgotten my headphones.

Okay–run will be done sans headphones.

Then the coach was giving out target paces for everyone that varied over the course of the route.  The run was a 4 mile loop.  Some people were doing 8 miles, others 12.  Me?  I was doing 16.  The first loop was supposed to be done at 8:30s followed by a loop averaging 8:15s followed by a loop at 8:20s with the last loop at 8:00s.  Of course, no one was going my pace.

Okay–sans headphones.  Sans people.

And did I mention that the temperature was in the single digits before windchill was taken into account?  Cold.  This is when you know it’s cold:

IMG_3300

Oh, and don’t worry about that “Service Engine Soon” light–it’s been on for over a year because of something with my exhaust.  It’ll get fixed eventually.

I did, however, remember to bring handwarmers for each of my gloves.

Sunday Run 3; Kristen 1.  (If you are keeping score here.  But who is, right?)

Well, the handwarmers don’t help that much when you are outside for that length of time and it is that freaking cold.  By the end of loop 2 I couldn’t feel either of my hands and it had started snowing–one of the runners who was coming in behind me had to open my nutrition because I was standing there at the water station struggling.

Two miles into my 3rd loop my quads started cramping.  It reminded me of Boston except not as painful (Although, I am guessing it would have gotten to that point if I had kept running.).  I decided to stop after 3 loops.  I wouldn’t call myself a quitter–I merely wasn’t willing to put in 4 more junk miles (with the potential for injury) to simply be able to say I ran 16 miles.  16 miles in single digit temps with snow sans music and people.

BTW, my quads are still sore today.  Oh, and don’t make your long run a race.  Here are some tips from an article I read:

  • Don’t do your long run with others who will push or test you. Save that for a track or speed session.
  • Be cautious if you’re doing a training run on the race course—you’ll be tempted to run as if you’re racing.
  • Set a pace cap—a speed you will not exceed—and follow it closely.
  • Start slowly. Use the first 3 to 6 miles as a chance to get warmed up and build into your run.
  • Avoid overly hilly terrain for the entire run. If your race will have hills, make the last few miles of the long run reflect the course.

So there you have it.

OH!  And I must give a shout out to my utterly fantastic friend, Michael, who just BQ’d out in California on Sunday!  Boston better watch out in 2015! 🙂

On another note, as I am house sitting 3 BCs, I thought it very appropriate to read the sequel to A Dog’s Purpose which is A Dog’s Journey.  FANTASTIC books.  The second one is definitely a tear-jerker just like the first one.  I highly recommend both of them.

Oh, you want to see some of the cute pictures I have taken of my BC crew since my stay?  Of course you do!

DSC_4518 IMG_3270                             IMG_3260 IMG_3261                                               IMG_3281 IMG_3290 DSC_4505 DSC_4515

Quote of the Day:

“It cannot be a dog’s purpose to understand what people want because it’s impossible.” – A Dog’s Journey by W. Bruce Cameron

So, I made two Cook’s Illustrated brownie recipes while reading this book over the weekend.  Both were delish!  These Chewy, Fudgy Triple Chocolate Brownies were just a little too rich for me, believe it or not!  I know, right!?  And I like to be able to bite into a chocolate chip or two when I eat my brownie, and you didn’t get that with these.  But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t make them!  And somebody (or maybe somebodies) will be getting some of these tasty treats for their birthdays coming up!  🙂 I also need to give some credit to the Williams-Osting’s kitchen where my baking and cooking happened this weekend!  (That’s one big brownie!)

Fudgy, Triple Chocolate Brownie - CI

Chewy, Fudgy Triple Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients

  • 5 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 stick), cut into quarters
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

Directions

1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and heat oven to 350*. Spray 8-inch square baking pan with nonstick vegetable cooking spray.

2. In medium heatproof bowl set over a pan of almost-simmering water, melt chocolates and butter, stirring occasionally until mixture is smooth (or you can do this in the microwave for 30 second intervals like I did!). Whisk in cocoa until smooth. Set aside to cool slightly.

3. Whisk together eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt in medium bowl until combined, about 15 seconds. Whisk warm chocolate mixture into egg mixture; then stir in flour with wooden spoon until just combined. Pour mixture into prepared pan, spread into corners, and level surface with rubber spatula (make sure to lick the spatula when you are done!).

4. Bake until slightly puffed and toothpick inserted in center comes out with a small amount of sticky crumbs clinging to it, 35 to 40 minutes. Cool on wire rack to room temperature, about 2 hours. Cut into 1-inch squares and serve. (Do not cut brownies until ready to serve; brownies can be wrapped in plastic and refrigerated up to 5 days.)

Courtesy of Cook’s Illustrated

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Long Run is NOT a Race…But It May Be a Struggle (Recipe: Chewy, Fudgy Triple Chocolate Brownies)

  1. Pingback: Stay Focused (Recipe: Pumpkin Dip) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Using Trail Runs in Training (Recipe: Chewy Brownies) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

