New Shoes and Gingerbread Houses (Recipe: Corn Chowder)

The only thing I bought on Black Friday was new running shoes.  And I didn’t get just one pair–I bought two!

They are the same exact shoes that I had before only they are the newer versions:  Brooks Pure Flows

DSC_4452

and Saucony Kinvara’s

DSC_4455

I love these shoes.  My old Pure Flows had 398 miles on them and my Kinvara’s had 377 miles on them–they are both about 350 miler shoes, so I was definitely overdue.  I wore the Pure Flows this morning for mile repeats and it is so amazing the difference a new pair of shoes makes.  So, if it has been awhile, go buy a new pair!

Now I can use my old pairs of running shoes as cross trainers because look at the cross trainers I got in August:

IMG_3193[1] IMG_3194[1]

I am hard on my shoes.

And the best part is that I basically got both pairs for the price of one!  I had two gift cards for $25 each for coaching GOTR for two seasons.  AND I had a little Christmas surprise!  Apparently I had a $56 credit at Fleet Feet (the local running store in Madison that I love)!  I love surprises like that!  AND for spending $100 on Black Friday, I got another $25 coupon that I can use after the first of the year!  Yay for running gear!

And then on Saturday my neighbor, Whitney, and I made gingerbread houses!  I don’t know that I have ever truly made a gingerbread house.  I am being serious.  If I have it was light years ago!  But it was an absolute blast and a perfect end to my Saturday!  Not to mention they turned out fabulously!  Look at them!

DSC_4470 DSC_4471

DSC_4468

And Callie was very intrigued watching Whitney decorate her house.  It was precious.

IMG_3199[1]

Running Tip: How you hold your head affects your running form.  Don’t let your chin jut outward and keep your gaze straight ahead.

Quote of the Day:

“A day without laughter is a day wasted.” -Charlie Chaplin

So, I made corn chowder.  It was good–but not a keeper recipe.  My coworker who is a soup connoisseur said all it needed was some pepper.  But it was nice to have with as chilly as it has been here.  Okay, chilly is an understatement.  It has been cold.

Corn Chowder

Corn Chowder

Ingredients

  • 8 ears corn, husks and silk removed
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 onion, chopped fine
  • 4 slices bacon, halved lengthwise then cut into 1/4 inch pieces
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh thyme
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 5 cups water
  • 3/4 pound red potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • Sugar
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

Directions

1. Cut kernels from corn; transfer to bowl and set aside (you should have 5 to 6 cups kernels). Holding cobs over second bowl, use back of butter knife to firmly scrape any remaining pulp on cobs into bowl (you should have 2 to 2 1/2 cups pulp). Transfer pulp to center of clean kitchen towel set in medium bowl. Wrap towel tightly around pulp and squeeze tightly until dry. Discard pulp in towel and set corn juice aside (you should have about 2/3 cup juice).

2. Melt butter in Dutch oven over medium heat; add onion, bacon, thyme, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper; cook, stirring frequently, until onion is softened and edges are beginning to brown, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir in flour and cook, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Whisking constantly, gradually add water and bring to boil. Add corn kernels and potatoes. Return to simmer; reduce heat to medium-low and cook until potatoes have softened, 15 to 18 minutes.

3. Process 2 cups chowder in blender until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes. Return puree to chowder; add half-and-half and return to simmer. Remove pot from heat and stir in reserved corn juice. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and up to 1 tablespoon sugar. Serve, sprinkling with basil.

Courtesy of Cook’s Illustrated

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Shoes and Gingerbread Houses (Recipe: Corn Chowder)

  1. Pingback: Eating Tips During the Holidays (Recipe: Pizza Bianca) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

