And My Next Marathon Is… (Recipe: Apple Pie Bars)

The Kickin’ Asphalt Marathon in Sugar Land, Texas! 1012795_521784747877320_1391792747_n Yup!  That’s the one! And it is January 26!  Which means I am just finishing up Week 5 of training!  I have been training for 5 weeks and haven’t told you!  I apologize, but I was trying to see if I could sustain mileage without pain before actually signing up for the race.  But now it’s official! Sugar Land is about 45 minutes outside of Spring, Texas which is right outside of Houston.

So, basically I get to visit my bestie and run a marathon the same weekend with her cheering me on (and I’m trying to convince her to run the 5K!)!  It can’t get much better than that!  I’m so excited to go back to Texas!!

Speaking of marathons, a few weeks ago I got my official Boston finisher’s certificate in the mail!  There it is!  I can’t wait to get another one day!  Because as I’ve said before, I will be going back at some point.

IMG_2693

In other news, I tried the honey wheat bagel with pumpkin schmear from Einsteins the other day.  Yum.  The pumpkin schmear may sound strange, but it is delicious.  My only complaint is that they put a little too much schmear on the bagel, and I had to take some off. Personal preference.

AND I got official pictures of Callie back from CanAm!  Irene Cotter with Fur-Fetched Photography does awesome work!  Look at my crazy girl!

_SC_3874 _SC_3878 _SC_8804 _SC_8846                                                   _SC_8847                                                                                                 _SC_8407

My LRD loves this sport! And to be fair, here are some pictures of my merlie girlie!  She is absolutely amazing, too!  I love my girlies!

IMG_2459 DSC_4348IMG_2733 12weeks

When Envy entertains herself, it’s usually with two toys at once because she can’t choose which one she wants to play with more.  Indecisiveness runs in the family, I guess.

And speaking of my bestie (I know, I know–this post is all over the place), did I ever show you the painting I got when I was with her in Madagascar?  Well, I got two, but I have only framed one of them.  Isn’t it awesome???  Obviously, this picture was taken a long time ago because there is only one crate and I now have two dogs BUT it was in the folder of pictures on my desktop that haven’t been posted on the blog.

IMG_1425Quote of the Day:

“Actions speak much louder than words.  You can say sorry a thousand times, and say “I love you” as much as you want.  But if you’re not going to prove that the things you say are true, then it’s not worth saying anything at all.  Because if you can’t show it, your words don’t mean a thing.”

So, now let’s end the randomness of this blog with a recipe.  How about that Apple Pie Bar recipe I promised you so long ago?  It was absolutely delicious!  If you remember, I made two recipes for my office’s chili cook-off, and this one was by far my favorite!  You must must try it!

Apple Pie Bars

Apple Pie Bars

Ingredients

Crust

– 3 sticks unsalted butter, softened
– 3/4 cup sugar
– 3 cups all-purpose flour
– 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Filling

– 6 tablespoons unsalted butter

– 1/2 cup light brown sugar
– 12 Granny Smith apples (about 6 pounds)—peeled, cored and thinly sliced
– 1 tablespoon cinnamon
– 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
– 1/2 cup water, if necessary

Topping

– 3 cups quick-cooking oats
– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
– 1 1/4 teaspoons cinnamon
– 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
– 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
– 3 sticks (12 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes and chilled

Directions

Crust

– Preheat the oven to 375*. Line a 15-by-17-inch rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

– In a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter with the sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. At low speed, beat in the flour and salt until a soft dough forms.

– Press the dough over the bottom of the prepared pan creating an even layer. Bake in the center of the oven for about 20 minutes, until the crust is golden and set. Let cool on a rack.

Filling

– In an extra large skillet, melt 6 tablespoons of the butter with 1/2 cup of the light brown sugar. Add the apples to the skillet and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 10 minutes. Stir the cinnamon and nutmeg.

– Cook until the apples are caramelized and very tender and the liquid is evaporated, about 10 minutes longer; scrape up any bits stuck to the bottom of the skillet and if necessary, add up to 1/2 cup of water to prevent scorching. Let cool. (I did not need to add any water to my skillet.)

Topping

– In a large bowl, mix the oats with the flour, light brown sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Using a pastry blender to cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal.

– Press the mixture into clumps.

Assemble

– Spread the apple filling over the crust.  Scatter the crumbs on top, pressing them lightly into an even layer.

– Bake in the center of the oven for 1 hour, until the topping is golden; rotate the pan halfway through baking. Let cool completely on a rack before cutting into 2-inch bars.

Courtesy of MyBakingAddiction

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

