Post-Long Run Cravings and First Fluid Blister (Recipe: Potato, Cauliflower and Cheddar Bake)

So, I have a very specific post-long run craving.  This craving began when I trained for my first marathon in the fall of 2011.  I had the craving again when I trained for Boston.  And now having completed my second weekend in a row doing a 10 miler, I once again had the same craving.

Greek salad from Panera.

Yup.  That’s my craving.  I’m never very hungry immediately after long runs, but a couple of hours later I always seem to crave the same thing.  In 2011 when I was training for the Soldier Marathon in Columbus, GA it was during the prime of VT football season.  I would wake up early, get my long run in and then go tailgate (minus alcohol, of course, because I was a serious runner like that) and go to the game.  I was always given a hard time because after running 15, 18, 20, or 22 miles, I never ate a ton.  And then after the game I would go to Panera.  So strange.  (Don’t worry.  I was also given a hard time for not drinking.  As soon as the marathon was over, my fellow tailgaters got me to drink quite a bit before our last night game.)

Anyway, I had a Greek salad for lunch on Sunday.  The craving is back!

AND I got my first fluid-filled blister.  Those things are awful.  I pop them.  I have found it makes them go away faster.  Both of these are signs that I have started putting in some solid miles!  And no pain!  Last week I got in 32.51 miles!  I like the sound of that!

FleetFeet

Now, I must admit something.  I have a HUGE soft spot for The Great American Cookie Factory’s slices of cookie cake.  O.M.G.  I have had their cookie cakes for my birthday from the ages of 12-22.  No joke.  And even once or twice in grad school!  Today, I had to stop by the mall after work and I totally had a slice.  Definitely worth the calories.

Also, have you seen the previews for the movie “About Time”?  I saw it last night ($5 movie night!!), and I would say it is cute, creative and worth seeing.  But I also love Rachel McAdams.  Just throwin’ that out there.

Quote of the Day:

“Either you run the day or the day runs you.” -Jim Rohn

Need a potential side dish for Thanksgiving?  This one isn’t too bad!  Definitely not chock full of the calories in most Thanksgiving dishes if you are looking for a little bit healthier option.  And it still has cheese!!

DSC_4338 Potato, Cauliflower and Cheddar Bake

Potato, Cauliflower and Cheddar Bake

Ingredients

– 1 tbsp unsalted butter, plus more for dish

– 1 1/2 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes (about 6), peeled and sliced 1/2 inch thick

– salt and pepper

– 1 small head cauliflower, sliced 1/2 inch thick

– 1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves

– 1 1/2 cups shredded sharp cheddar (6 ounces)

– 1/3 cup chicken broth

Directions

– Preheat oven to 450*.  Butter a 2-quart baking dish.

– In a large pot, cover potatoes with cold salted water by 2 inches.  Bring to a boil, then add cauliflower and cook at a rapid simmer until potatoes are just cooked through and cauliflower is crisp-tender, about 10 minutes.  Drain in a colander and let sit for 5 minutes.

– Place half the potatoes and cauliflower in dish, sprinkle with half the thyme and cheddar, and season with pepper.  Repeat to make a second layer.  Add broth and dot the top with butter.

– Bake until cheese is deep golden and bubbling, 15 to 20 minutes.

Courtesy of Everyday Food

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post-Long Run Cravings and First Fluid Blister (Recipe: Potato, Cauliflower and Cheddar Bake)

  1. Becca says:

    If only I had such healthy post-run cravings!

Leave a Reply

