GOTR: Honk for the Humane Society! (Recipe: Pumpkin Spice Snickerdoodle Blondies)

Wednesday was our last GOTR practice!!  Our girls run their 5K this Saturday!!  I’m ridiculously excited for them!  They have been a wonderful group and have all worked their bums off this season!  The progress they have made in running is unbelievable!  For our last practice we bought supplies for a craft that they could pin to their hats on race day.  Miss Melanie made mine for me–I LOVE it!!  ❤ ❤ ❤

IMG_2992

Almost two weeks ago now, the girls had to come up with their own community service project.  As a group they decided that they wanted to donate to the Humane Society (we have a bunch of animal lovers in our group!).  The next task was to decide how they were going to raise money for the Humane Society.

Because it was the week of Halloween, they decided that they would dress up in their Halloween costumes during our GOTR practice, and they would try to get as many honks from cars as they could get.  Then they volunteered their parents to donate a coin of their choosing for each honk (penny, nickel, dime, quarter).  The other head coach and I underestimated our girls because can you guess how many honks they got in approximately one hour??

300 HONKS!

That’s right!  So, after donations from parents they raised over $150 for the Humane Society!  I have been coaching a bunch of little rock stars!  I know you are dying to see their awesome costumes so I will share some pictures–they dressed me up with a bunch of random items that Coach Julia brought.  I turned out to be a Cheer Queen.  Coach Julia was more put together and went as a flamingo!  One of my girls told me I was beautiful.  So not only do I have rock stars, I have sweethearts, too!  I’m going to miss them!!

DSC_4284 DSC_4285 DSC_4303 DSC_4309 DSC_4291 DSC_4306                                                 DSC_4312

I can’t wait to tell you all how well my girls do at their 5K on Saturday!

So, I went back to Einsteins again.  I know, I know.  Now it has become almost like an addiction.  This time I got the Asiago bagel–very good but my least favorite of the three I have tried.  I like Panera’s Asiago bagel better.

And it is finally getting chilly here in Madison!  It was around 34* tonight when I went out for my pub run!  Brrrr!  I haven’t had to turn my heat on yet, though!  That’s the awesome thing about living in a middle apartment–I have a buffer on 3 sides!

Quote of the Day:

“Running is not about building strength and wearing it like a fashion statement.  Running is about finding strength and measuring yourself every single day.” -The Oatmeal

So, I was not a fan of this dessert.  I am usually a fan of most things pumpkin pie, but I just couldn’t get into these.  I did get a couple compliments at my firm, but I think my coworkers just enjoy the fact that I bring in baked goods all of the time!

Pumpkin Spice Snickerdoodle Blondies

Pumpkin Spice Snickerdoodle Blondies

Ingredients

– 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
– 1 cup sugar
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1 large egg
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 cup all purpose flour
– 1 cup Pumpkin Spice M&Ms (or regular M&Ms)
– 1 1/2 tbsp sugar, for topping
– 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp ground ginger
– 1/8 tsp ground cloves

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350F. Line an 8×8-inch baking pan with aluminum foil.

– In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in salt, egg and vanilla extract until well combined. Add in flour and stir until no streaks of dry ingredients remain. Fold in M&Ms. Spoon dough – it will be thick – into prepared baking dish and smooth it with a spatula into an even layer.

– In a small bowl, stir together remaining 1 1/2 tbsp sugar with the ground cinnamon, ground ginger and ground cloves. Sprinkle dough evenly with sugar and spice mixture.

– Bake for about 30-34 minutes, until bars are set and the edges are just very lightly browned. Cool in the pan before slicing.

Courtesy of Baking Bites

This entry was posted in GOTR, Individual Workouts, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

