October Photo a Day Challenge (Recipe: Butternut Squash Apple Cranberry Bake)

Rabbit!  Rabbit!  Rabbit!  It’s the 1st of the month!  (You should look up the tradition if you haven’t heard of it before.)

Speaking of which, have any of you guys heard of the “Photo a Day Challenge”?

Basically, there is a prompt for every day of the month and you take a photo according to what the prompt is.  It’s a really easy concept.  I didn’t go in order for October.  I picked out words as I wanted to take the picture.  So, in essence, I guess I cheated a little bit.  I took pictures for 24 of the days, though!  I think that’s a success for my first time trying this!  Here they are (I put the prompt of the day in the caption of the photograph):

8 o'clock

8 o’clock

a good day

a good day

afternoon

afternoon

below

below

 

something colorful

something colorful

what you saw today

what you saw today

watching

watching

 

treat

treat

 

still

still

 

peaceful

peaceful

open

open

M is for...

M is for… (Merlie Girlie!)

light

light

leafy

leafy

just for you

just for you

in motion

in motion

hands

hands

dark

dark

depth of field

depth of field

first world problem

first world problem

favorite space

favorite space

 

welcome

welcome

you today

you today

your mood today

your mood today

It was a really fun and creative way to get me to use my camera more than I normally would!  I am going to try it again for the month of November!

BTW, I did Insanity this morning.  Holy moly was it hard!  The intervals were the exact same as they have been for the past several weeks, but I was already sore from a more intense arm workout yesterday and a hill workout earlier in the week not to mention my 5+ mile pub run I did last night with the guys.  Let’s just say the class kicked my butt this morning.

Quote of the Day:

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” -Matthew 6:34

I am trying to use up the rest of my CSA veggies!  Yes, I still have some!  So I made this Butternut Squash Apple Cranberry Bake.  Definitely a fall recipe if you need one!

Butternut Squash Apple Cranberry Bake

Butternut Squash Apple Cranberry Bake

Ingredients

– 1 large butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes

– 2 large cooking apples, peeled and cut into ½ inch thick slices

– 1/3 cup dried cranberries

– ¼ cup packed brown sugar

– ½ tbsp flour

– ½ tsp salt

– ¼ tsp ground nutmeg

– 2 tbsp butter cut into ¼-inch cubes

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350*.

– In a small bowl, mix the brown sugar, flour, salt, and nutmeg.

– Place the squash in an 8×8 baking dish, then top with apples and cranberries.  Sprinkle the sugar mixture on top and dot with butter cubes.

– Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour.  Stir before serving so that the squash and apples are sufficiently sauced.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to October Photo a Day Challenge (Recipe: Butternut Squash Apple Cranberry Bake)

  1. Becca says:

    Love the photo a day! I did a few of those last year and really enjoyed them. I’ve been lazy recently, but maybe I’ll do another one here soon. Which site are you following?

  2. Kristen says:

    I’m totally up for doing December next month with you!! I love it!!

  3. Pingback: November Photo a Day and Races that Sell Out Fast (Recipe: Pumpkin Pie Take 4) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

