My Longest Run Since Boston (Recipe: Dutch Apple Pie Bars)

6.40 miles.  It is my longest run since Boston.  And it felt good.  Really good.  I think part of the reason why I went so long was the weather:

IMG_2645

Look at that.   Perfect running weather.  Low 60s.  Sunny.  Cool.  Crisp.  Perfect.

I didn’t run fast.  Mostly because I’m out of shape.  But I just enjoyed the run.  My speed will come back.  I’m just thankful to be able to log the miles.  I can’t wait for more of these.

Yesterday was a good Saturday!  After my run, I spent time with the pups.  My legs are getting torn up from Callie doing knee vaults with the frisbee.  Envy’s retrieves and releases with distraction are stellar!

Then I went to a friend’s house to have a Breaking Bad marathon.  Have you watched that show?  I watched 5 episodes, and I just couldn’t get into it.  But the food was all blue themed!  It was great!  Cinnamon rolls with blue cream cheese frosting.  Blue potatoes in our hashbrowns.  Blueberry mimosas.  You think of it, we probably had it.

Then I got invited to the Williams-Ostings (with the pups!) for dinner.  Yum.  Although we didn’t take pictures of the meal (epic fail–we were just so hungry that we devoured it!), I will share the recipe at some point!!  The pups love Allison and Michael’s house.  Envy just makes herself at home completely in awe at the number of bones available to her.  Callie loves stalking the cat.

IMG_2658 IMG_2663

Then after dinner Michael made us a fire pit, and we roasted marshmallows and enjoyed the gorgeous Wisconsin October evening while the pups ran around outside.

IMG_2664 envy_20weeks_ostings1 IMG_2667

IMG_2683IMG_2691

Today I have a 5K that I am running in, so I will update you on that tomorrow or Tuesday I’m sure!  It supposed to be another gorgeous day here in Madison!  I’m excited!

Random Fact of the Day: A study found that flu germs can be transmitted from as far away as 6 feet!

Quote of the Day:

“The type of person you want to become–what the purpose of your life is–is too important to leave to chance.” -Clayton Christensen

This week at work we had a Chili Cook-Off.  Instead of making chili, I made dessert (duh).  I made two recipes of Apple Pie Bars.  Below is the recipe for Dutch Apple Pie Bars.  They got a great review, but I think the other recipe was the winner.  Also, remember when I made the Baked Maple Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal?  Well, I made that for dinner again this week.  Yes, dinner.  I love me some breakfast for dinner.  It was delicious.

Dutch Apple Pie Bars - BEB

Dutch Apple Pie Bars

Ingredients

For the Crust:
8 ounces (4 cups) animal crackers
1/3 cup light brown sugar
Pinch salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For the Streusel:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon cornmeal
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

For the Filling:
2 pounds Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced ¼-inch thick
2 tablespoons butter, melted
¼ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a 9×13-inch baking pan with foil or parchment paper, allowing excess to hang over pan edges. If using foil, grease or spray with non-stick cooking spray.

2. Make the Crust: Process the crackers, brown sugar and salt in a food processor until they have been reduced to fine crumbs, about 15 seconds. Add the melted butter and pulse to incorporate. Press the crumbs into an even layer in the prepared pan and bake until deep golden brown, 10 to 13 minutes. Cook on a wire rack for 20 minutes. Keep the oven on.

3. Make the Streusel: Whisk together the flour, sugars and cornmeal in a medium bowl. Add the melted butter and toss with a fork until the dry ingredients are all evenly moistened. Set aside.

4. Make the Filling: Combine the apples, melted butter, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft and the liquid has evaporated, 8 to 10 minutes.

5. Assemble: Spread the apples over the crust in an even layer and sprinkle with the streusel. Bake until the streusel is brown, 25 to 30 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack, about 2 hours. Using the foil or parchment overhangs, lift the bars from the pan and cut into squares. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator or at room temperature.

Courtesy of BrownEyedBaker

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

