Sometimes I Miss the East Coast…A Lot (Recipe: Thin Fudgy Brownies)

Especially the mountains.  And easy access to VT football.  And the winters (particularly the lack of snow).  And so many close friends.

This weekend was the second weekend in the last three weeks that I got to spend on the east coast.  Three weeks ago I was in Delaware visiting some of my best friends.  And this weekend I was in Blacksburg, Virginia visiting another one of my best friends.  We had a fantastic time!  It started with some puppy lovin’!  I hadn’t seen these pups in eons!  In all seriousness, I can’t remember the last time I saw them.  Maybe a year ago?  But they both remembered me!  Especially Cody!!

IMG_2471

Saturday morning started off with a run–look at this fog!

IMG_2479

And was quickly followed by a day full of activities!  We started off by going to one of my all-time favorite study places (Mill Mountain Coffee and Tea) where we had DELICIOUS breakfast sandwiches.  No studying was involved this time.

IMG_2483

We then stopped by THE most amazing donut shop EVER to get donuts for the tailgate.

IMG_2485 IMG_2486

We then made our way to the tailgate in a very round-about fashion, but we made it there all the same!  The tailgate was small this year.  For one reason or another most of the regulars couldn’t attend.  That doesn’t mean we didn’t drink or eat our fill, though!  And I was LOVING the weather.  Perfect football weather!

IMG_2488 IMG_2490 IMG_2491 IMG_2496

And we had THE most fantastic seats.  50 yard line.  22 rows up.  No joke.  And we were surrounded by an interesting crowd of people which made the game that much more interesting.  I love people watching and hearing random tidbits of conversation!

IMG_2498 IMG_2504 IMG_2508 IMG_2511 IMG_2500

One of our friends works the games and just so happened to be working our section!  When we went for a quick visit before half-time, she was taking care of some serious business.  We walked down just as she said, “Michaela to command” in her official taking-care-of-business tone.

IMG_2585

After the game we went back to see the pups and then joined up with Michaela for dinner!  Have you noticed that my trip was centered around food and football?? 🙂  We had to carb up for our race in the morning.

IMG_2514 IMG_2515

Dinner was followed by crazy antics in the parking lot trying to take selfies…#socute.  I promise we hadn’t been drinking.  We were just in silly moods!

IMG_2522

IMG_2523 IMG_2524

And because we were feeling ridiculously full, we decided to walk around downtown and campus afterward (mainly because I wanted to and the girls obliged!).

IMG_2591 IMG_4206 IMG_4202 IMG_2593

Then it was off to bed after an exhausting day because we had a big Sunday planned!  Sunday started off with a 1.52 mile walk in memory of Officer Crouse followed by the annual Homecoming 5K.  We even got our picture taken with the Hokie Bird.  How cool are we??

IMG_2513 IMG_2537

And, yes, I made Cheryl run up part of the hill by threatening to take her picture walking up it.  She said I was cruel.  I think I’m just a good motivator.

IMG_2542 IMG_2543 IMG_2595 post-race

IMG_2540Then we had lunch at my absolute favorite restaurant in Blacksburg…Macados.  You can’t make a trip to Blacksburg without eating at Macados.  And we got to ride in Greg’s new Jeep!  Great Jeep riding weather!

IMG_2546

jeep ride

After that we decided to go to Sinkland Farms for a bit.  We pet some animals.

IMG_2556 IMG_2559

We did some pumpkin chunkin’.

IMG_2566 IMG_2570

We bought some apple butter.

IMG_2575

We milked a fake cow.

IMG_2576

We took our pictures in all of the cut-outs meant for kids.  Yep.  We were those girls.

IMG_2554 IMG_2580

We had an absolute blast.  And because we didn’t eat anything at the farm or have one of Macados amazing desserts…we had to go by Cook Out to get a delicious milkshake.  The Midwest is totally missing out by not having Chic-Fil-A and Cook Out.  I swear.

IMG_2582After milkshakes we finally went back home and all took showers (yes–we hadn’t taken showers all day even after running a 5K).  People who know me know that I don’t mind being dirty and smelly.  It’s just a fact of life.  I am proud of Cheryl, though, because it is totally not her thing.

Then we watched The Time Traveler’s Wife and Whip It.  Both really good movies!  And now I want to read the book The Time Traveler’s Wife because we know that the book is always better than the movie.  And then we called it a night (past 11:30pm) because Cheryl and I were up at 4:10am to go to the airport so I could fly home.

So, can we just say I had a whirlwind of a trip??  But an absolutely amazing trip at that!!  I wouldn’t have traded it for anything!

And the pups were well-taken care of–Callie loves the Williams-Osting’s household!  And Envy has a ball at the Miller’s!  And I didn’t actually ask them to watch the pups this trip–I planned to board them, but Michael asked if he could watch Callie while I was gone and kind of volunteered the Millers for Envy. 🙂  I have the most awesome dog-loving friends here!

IMG_2525 IMG_2526

Callie was watching out for the cat

Callie was watching out for the cat

Quote of the Day:

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” -Dr. Seuss

And for this trip I baked brownies.  Two batches.  (I have to compare recipes, remember??)  We enjoyed most of them while watching the movies.  But here is the recipe for one of the batches.  These brownies are fudgy but very thin.  The other recipe made a thicker batch of brownies (which is my personal preference).  But they were both good!

Thin Fudgy Brownies

Thin Fudgy Brownies

Ingredients

– ½ cup butter, melted

– 1 cup sugar

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 2 eggs

– ½ cup AP flour

– 1/3 cup cocoa

– ¼ tsp baking powder

– ¼ tsp salt

– Chocolate chips

Directions

– Heat oven to 350* and grease 9-inch square baking pan.

– Stir together butter, sugar, and vanilla in a bowl.  Add eggs; beat well with spoon.  Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; gradually add to egg mixture, beating until well blended.  Stir in chocolate chips, and spread batter evenly into prepared pan.

– Bake 20-25 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of the pan.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Food Picture (No Recipe), Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes I Miss the East Coast…A Lot (Recipe: Thin Fudgy Brownies)

  1. Ellie says:

    Sometimes (read: all the time) we miss you too!

  2. Becca says:

    Love this! I am always “that girl” anywhere there is a mural with a face cut out.

Leave a Reply

