Spending Quality Time with Your Pooch(es) (Recipe: Baked Spaghetti)

The other day I was reading an article on which breeds of dogs are the “best” running partners.  In terms of longer distances, Aussies, Siberian Huskies, Alaskan Malamute, German Shepherds, Rhodesian Ridgebacks and, of course, Border Collies, are known for their endurance!  Callie used to run quite a bit with me before I got injured.  Now that I’m feeling better, I should try to take her out for a run again to work on her stamina as well as mine!  We did get to do a 3-miler last Thursday with my friend Kim! That’s a good start!

And then I came across this list of races that you can do with your dog!  If you live anywhere near one of them, you should check it out!

1. DogFest featuring Paws on Parade Walk-a-Thon – Baltimore Humane Society’s largest event of the year.

2. Doggie Bones 5K – Sarasota, FL in October

3. Greyhound Pets 5K Run & Pet Walk – Daytona Beach

4. Gulliver’s Run – Gifford Pinchot State Park

5. The Dash 5K & Doggle Run – Rock Creek Park, DC

6. Dog Day at the Dam – San Pablo Reservoir

7. Gingerbread Jog 5K & Dog Walk – Baton Rouge, LA

And speaking of pooches, after flyball practice yesterday, my pups were exhausted!

IMG_2423[1] IMG_2424[1]

Envy turned 17 weeks old yesterday!!  I can’t believe it!  On that note, here is a puppy tip I learned from one of the books I am reading:  You can use access to the performance of a high-probability behavior to reinforce performance of a low-probability behavior.  Leslie McDevitt goes on to say that if you pair a high-probability behavior such as chasing squirrels with a low-probability behavior such as recalling your pup away from squirrels, the more you build a passion in your pup for performing the low-probability behavior.  How does this happen? By doing this the emotions that your puppy feels while chasing the squirrel (good emotions!!) can be linked with coming back to you.

16weeks_sleep 16weeks_sleep2

(There is a difference in the pictures–in the first one her eyes are closed.  In the second one her eyes are open as if to say, “I need my beauty sleep, Mom!”)

This weekend I also went apple picking at Eplegaarden with Jess!  It was an absolutely gorgeous weekend, and I hope we get a few more of these before the winter sets in!

IMG_2402 IMG_2403                             IMG_2407 IMG_2410 IMG_2416 IMG_2417

 

IMG_2413

Oh!  I also sent out another Pay It Forward this weekend.  I am up to 7!  A little behind, but I’ll get there!

And speaking of running (from earlier in the post), I have been trying to up my running mileage each week!  Week 1 I ran a total of 9 miles.  Week 2 I ran 11.69 miles.  And last week I ran 13.41 miles!  Slowly but surely, right??

Workouts:

Wednesday: 3 mile run with GOTR; 20 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 40 minutes elliptical

Thursday: 25 minutes weights; 50 minutes elliptical; 1 mile walk; 3.15 mile run with Kim and Callie

Friday: hip strengthening; 55 minutes elliptical; 30 minute Insanity Class; 1.25 mile walk

Saturday: 25 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 45 minutes elliptical; 3.10 mile run

Sunday: 3.1 mile run on the treadmill; 0.5 mile walk; 10 minutes of abs; 45 minutes elliptical

Random Fact of the Day:  The average number of fillings a person has is 7!

Quote from How Will You Measure Your Life?:

“Sacrifice deepens our commitment.” -Clayton Christensen

Can I just say that I can’t wait until I am cooking for two people?  Or cooking with someone else for two people.  Not only because that will mean company in the kitchen but also because I will not be eating the same meal all week.  Because while this Baked Spaghetti is delicious, I have had it for 10 meals now.  That’s right.  10 meals.  If I were sharing it with someone else, the 9×13 pan would no longer be in my refrigerator.  Oh, and someone at my office told me today that my baked goods don’t count towards calories in their diets.  Gotta love my coworkers.  🙂

Baked Spaghetti DSC_0083

Baked Spaghetti

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground pork/turkey/beef
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 cans (one 15 ounces, one 8 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 8 ounces sliced mushrooms
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 14 oz uncooked spaghetti
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups (16 ounces) cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons minced chives
  • 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons butter, melted

Directions

  1. In a large skillet, cook turkey/pork/beef and onions over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain. Add the tomato sauce, mushrooms, garlic powder and oregano. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the spaghetti according to package directions; drain. In a small bowl, combine the cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream and chives; beat well. Place half of spaghetti in a greased 4-qt. baking dish. Spoon cream cheese mixture evenly over top. Layer with remaining spaghetti and all of the beef mixture.
  3. Toss bread crumbs and butter; sprinkle over the top. Cover and bake at 350° for 20 minutes. Uncover; bake 5-10 minutes longer until heated through.

Adapted from Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Puppy Tips, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spending Quality Time with Your Pooch(es) (Recipe: Baked Spaghetti)

  1. Lisa says:

    Tupperware is your friend….cut in squares, freeze for later….

  2. pat says:

    Looks like you are having a lot of fun and have made a great life in Wisconsin. When you quit looking…. he will find you.

  3. Pingback: Talking Heads: Listening to Your Inner Voice (Recipe: Blueberry and Peach Coffee Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

