Hip Weaknesses and Compliments (Recipe: Blueberry-Peach Crumble)

There is plenty of research to back up the theory that weak hips can lead to injuries. For instance, one study published in the Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy found that when the hip over-rotated and collapsed inwards during the gait cycle, IT band syndrome often resulted. Another study in the Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine discovered an association between overuse injuries in the lower extremities and poor strength in the muscles around the hip region, including the hip abductor, adductor and flexor.

The article I read said the following:  “The two most common injuries that result from weak hips include illiotibial band syndrome or patellofemoral pain syndrome, but in fact, many other injuries could occur from weak hips, including Achilles tendinopathy, shin splints and plantar fasciitis.”  That’s a lot of injuries.  Time to strengthen those hips!  My physical therapist seems uber impressed that I pretty much do my hip strengthening exercises every day.  I’m just that on top of things. 🙂

So, the other day I read a blog post entitled “…because i’m a twentysomething” and it really struck me.  It discusses how time changes things and your life rarely turns out how you expect and how you compare yourselves to others your age and worry whether you are falling behind. The author says, “because as easy it is to forget, you’re free to do what you want with your life. the problem is, that can be quite the responsibility, to live your life the way you want to, rather than they way you are expected to. especially if that means taking a big jump.”

She goes on to say, “and when you’re in your twenties, i hope you buy a plane ticket to paris. i hope you get lost wandering all of the streets. i hope you travel the world and read lots of new books.  i hope you have interesting conversations over warm cups of tea.  i hope you drink out of mason jars while dancing barefoot in the grass. i hope you have a water fight in central park. set goals and change them. quit your day job. i hope you don’t do any of these things or that you do them all. write a book. change your mind. start new friendships and let go of the ones that you need to. say goodbye to all of the things that have kept you stagnant and vow to keep moving forward.”

Because it hit home, I decided to send the link to a couple of my friends (and I think I may have posted it to FB).  And from one of them I received one of the best compliments I have ever received.  This person told me that the post reminded him/her of the way I live my life and that he/she wanted to be more like me.  I think that is one of the best compliments someone can receive–for me it is evidence that I am truly participating in life’s opportunities and motivating others to strive toward that goal as well.  The compliment meant the world to me.

Out of curiosity, I started reading some of the other posts from this blog and came across something that I felt like I should pass on:

“and while you are here, on this earth, i hope you make someone smile.  i hope you forgive someone when it’s the hardest thing to do, and i hope you say you are sorry when you’re wrong.  and with the time you are given, i hope you find the things that you love and spend it with people that help you to become a better person.  i hope you say ‘i love you’ every chance you get, and i hope you wear that expensive perfume you’ve been saving up.  and in the amount of hours.minutes.seconds. you have, i hope you take risks, go on adventures, and eat good food. i hope you laugh until you cry and dance even if you don’t know how to.  i hope you help when you can and that you replace quick judgements with attempts to understand. and with your time, i hope you find yourself trying new things and growing in whatever way that you can. i hope you change someone’s life and find the one thing you are really good at.”

I found this extremely inspiring.  And while you are taking advantage of life’s opportunities, I want to remind you not to take your dogs or cats or other furry companions for granted.  Make sure to love on them every second you get.  Yesterday, I had a friend who lost her pup way too young at 14 months due to an unexpected complication during surgery.  My heart goes out to her, and I can’t even imagine what she is going through.  There is an online fundraising effort underway to help them with the vet bills that they have accrued this week.  If you feel inclined, please consider helping her out or just give your pups an extra hug or kiss today.  I let my pups get in bed with me after letting them out early this morning, and there was a mini war going on to see who get closest to mom and give her the most kisses.  I loved every second of it. 🙂  My prayers and thoughts go out to Shelly.

14weeks IMG_1976 DSC_0014 Envy_14weeks2

Remember way back when I was making all those peach recipes because I got a gazillion peaches from my CSA ?  Well, I never posted this Blueberry-Peach Crumble recipe, but it got RAVE reviews from my office:  people-coming-to my-office-specifically-to-compliment-me-on-the-dessert rave reviews.  Which basically means you are going to have to try it at some point.  And you can substitute in any type of fruit you would prefer!!  (But the blueberry and peach combination is to die for!)

Blueberry Peach Crumble DSC_0059

Blueberry Peach Crumble

Ingredients

Topping:

– 1 cup flour

– 1 cup brown sugar

– 1 cup rolled oats

–  2/3 cup butter, softened

– 1.5 tsp cinnamon

 Peach and Blueberry Filling

– 2 pounds peaches cut into ½ inch wedges (6 cups)

– 1.5 cups blueberries

– ¾ cup granulated sugar

– 1 tbsp lemon juice

– 4 tsp cornstarch

– ½ tsp salt

Directions

– Preheat oven to 375.  Combines filling ingredients and transfer to an 8-inch square baking dish

– Scatter topping over filling and bake 40-50 minutes (until center is bubbling).  After 30 minutes, tent with foil.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hip Weaknesses and Compliments (Recipe: Blueberry-Peach Crumble)

  1. Pingback: 11 Things Every Type A Person Wants You to Know | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

