My Jam-Packed Weekend Including 7 Miles of Running! (Recipe: Peach Cobbler Muffins)

Oh.  My.  Word.  My weekend was CRAZY.  Crazy fun!  But crazy busy!  However, I want to start out by saying that I ran a total of 7 miles with no pain between Saturday and Sunday!  Which means I ran a total of 9 miles last week!!  Can you believe it??  Because I’m having a hard time believing it!

I started off my weekend festivities on Friday having dinner with a fabulous friend!  We literally chatted for 3.5 hours over dinner and dessert!  Yes, we had that much to talk about!

dinner with allison

Then Saturday I got up and went for my first run in a long time that was pain free!  3.85 miles with no music-only my thoughts in my head.  It was a perfect autumn morning with clean, crisp air (even though I know it is not officially autumn), and I got to see the sunrise!  It was amazing.

Then after spending some time playing frisbee and chase with the pups (as well as some training with Envy), I went to do some volunteer work with the United Way at the Arboretum.  We were asked to pull out woody-species from a certain grassland area called Curtis Prairie.  Curtis Prairie is the oldest restored prairie in the nation!  I always feel so good after doing volunteer work!

THEN I went to Door Creek Orchard for apple picking!  Oh my gosh, we had so much fun!  It was an absolutely gorgeous day to be outside!  AND it was the first weekend in the history of the farm that we got to pick Honeycrisp Apples!  (And likely the only weekend they were allowing it!  How lucky were we??)

I found out some fun facts about apples that I will share along with pictures from our outing!  First, apples are one of the few fruits that you can find fresh any time of the year all over the country!

IMG_2201 IMG_2206

Did you know that the average U.S. consumer eats about 65 apples (or 22 pounds) per person annually?  We contributed by each eating one at the farm as soon as we picked and paid for them!

IMG_2214 IMG_2215

Apple trees begin to bear fruit when they are about 4 or 5 years old, and occasionally apple trees that are 200 years old are still producing apples!

IMG_2199 IMG_2209

About half of the U.S. apple crop is processed into apple products such as applesauce, pie filling, jams, jellies and juice.

IMG_2205 IMG_2226

The first commercial apple orchards in Wisconsin were planted between 1830 and 1850.  We are sure glad they did!!  Commerical orchards are now found in 46 of Wisconsin’s 72 counties comprising about 6,400 acres and producing about 58  million pounds of fruit worth over $18 million a year.

IMG_2224 IMG_2227

BTW, this farm also had sheep AND pick-your-own grapes!

IMG_2218 IMG_2223

However, the one downfall of this farm is that they didn’t sell cider by the glass along with donuts, so Kim and I decided we would have to visit another farm another weekend (and maybe Z will join us??) for cider and donuts!!

Then after apple picking and playing some with the pups, I went out to dinner with friends at Bluephies which was delish (BLT with tater tots!):

IMG_2229

And then we went to the Badgers Women’s Volleyball game which was SO much fun!!  The Badgers crushed Bowling Green!

IMG_2232

Of course we stopped to get Babcock Ice-Cream (ice-cream made by UW!) on our way back to the car:

IMG_2233

What a day!  But I absolutely loved every minute of it!  Then on Sunday I woke up to it raining outside (which I LOVE).  Then after a bright and early workout I went to church with the Millers.  Jill’s daughters were extremely well-behaved and told me a funny story about someone accidentally dropping their book in the Holy Water because they thought it was a glass-top table and didn’t realize it was water (Really?? Haha!).  The girls were so cute telling it!

And then we had Flyball practice!  Envy and Callie did awesome!  Michael and Allison are taking Callie to a tournament this weekend while I’m out of town where she should get her next UFLI title (my LRD has such a tough life, let me tell you!)

Sleeping on my Feet

Sleeping on my Feet

Envy was my rock star at practice!  I took video but no pictures.  BUT I did take a picture of my pups today when we were on our lunch-time walk.  Aren’t they too cute for words??

IMG_2268[1]

Among all the fun I had this weekend, I did get 5 hours of work in!  Yep!  I really did!  And apparently, Madison is a Top Foodie Paradise–one of my besties sent me this article!  I have been to most of the places on that list!!

Workouts (because I have been horrible about posting them):

Wednesday:  45 minutes elliptical; GOTR

Thursday: 30 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 2 mile run on the treadmill; 1.5 mile walk; 20 minutes elliptical

Friday: hip strengthening; 52 minutes elliptical; Insanity Class

Saturday: hip strengthening; 3.85 mile outdoor run

Sunday: 50 minutes hip strengthening + weights + RC exercises; 45 minutes elliptical; 3.15 mile outdoor run

So I am reading this new book called “How Will You  Measure Your Life?” by Clayton Christensen and am finding it extremely inspiring.  You will be getting several quotes from it in the near future.

Quote of the Day:

“The path to happiness is about finding someone who you want to make happy, someone whose happiness is worth devoting yourself to.” -Clayton Christensen

And I made Peach Cobbler Muffins with some of those peaches I was telling you about!  Except they taste more like cinnamon muffins.  You can barely taste the peach!  The crumb topping was my favorite part!

Peach Cobbler Muffins

Peach Cobbler Muffins

Ingredients

Topping:

  • 6 TBS cold butter, cut into chunks
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup quick oats
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Muffins:

  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 cups peeled and diced peaches

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Line 15 muffin tins (should make 15 – 18) and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, prepare topping. Combine flour, brown sugar, oats, and cinnamon. Using your hands or a pastry blender, cut in butter until it’s fully combined and crumbly. Set aside.
  3. Prepare batter: In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients with a wooden spoon until well blended. Divide batter into muffin cups, filling 2/3 full. Top generously with crumb topping, gently pressing it into the batter.
  4. Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Do NOT go by how they feel when you touch the top — the peaches make the muffins very moist and they might still feel a bit squishy.
  5. Let cool on a wire rack before serving.

Adapted from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Jam-Packed Weekend Including 7 Miles of Running! (Recipe: Peach Cobbler Muffins)

  1. Becca says:

    I think you should try making your own apple cider donuts! And then let me know how it goes. Making donuts still intimidates me. I haven gotten up the nerve to try it.

  2. Pingback: The Man on the Bus (Recipe: S’mores Cookie Cups) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

