Damn Jack Russell Terriers This Weekend (Recipe: Peaches and Cream Bundt Cake)

First and foremost, I apologize to everyone who owns well-trained Jack Russell Terriers.  I’m sure they are sweet and I would love them.  This post is not in any way directed toward you.  And in reality, this could have been any breed of dog, but I have to vent for a few minutes on two experiences I had on Saturday that involved two of these little guys who were not well-trained and who should not have been in the Flyball ring.  On Saturday I was too upset to vent.  I cried instead.  It’s fine.  My pups are fine.  That’s what matters most.

But people need to train their damn dogs.  I know my dogs are nowhere near perfect.  But I know Callie’s triggers and I avoid them as much as possible.  Especially when we are in a distracting environment with lots of other people and dogs.  Example: Callie is extremely scared of children.  Hence, when we are walking on leash and I see a child in the distance, I go out of my way to keep Callie focused on me and not the child.  I just had plenty of experience with this taking Agility 3 where a 6-year-old was in all of our classes training her dog.  It is possible.  Callie rarely focused on or got upset by the child because I kept her attention.

Anyway, I digress.  Mid-morning on Saturday I took Envy into the Flyball building to watch some racing and play tug before our team’s race.  There was a team racing who had a Jack Russell as their height dog.  Well, Envy was focused more on the racing and not on the tugging so I took her OUTSIDE of the building to realign her focus on me.  We were tugging in the grass and out of nowhere this Terrier raced out of the building and attacked Envy.  I grabbed him by the collar and held him away.  A woman came meandering outside, took the dog AND WENT BACK INTO THE BUILDING TO FINISH THE TEAM’S LAST HEAT.  Are you f’ing kidding me?

By this point, tears are streaming down my face as I’m trying to talk in my high-pitched happy Mommy voice telling Envy what a good girl she is.  (I think Jill was ready to use her very mean Mommy voice to the other owner for me.) We engaged Envy in play with one of our team dogs to help her forget what just happened.  (Havana is THE BEST nanny dog I have ever seen.  She loves puppies!)  Then the woman came out, asked if my dog was okay, and then asked how old she was.  When I responded 13 weeks, she said, “Oh, a puppy.  No wonder.”  And then she walked away.  WTF?  Of course that made me cry again.  If your dog isn’t well-socialized AND cannot focus on playing the game (ie, playing Flyball) with the distraction you have no business bringing your dog into the ring off leash and letting him get away from you.  Absolutely no business.  Her dog saw Envy when we came into the building, fixated on her, then came out of the ring AND out of the building DURING A RACE with the purpose of attacking my dog.  That is not okay.  This was instance #1 with a Terrier on Saturday.

Instance #2.  Let me begin by saying that when Callie goes into the Flyball building, she is a barker.  She barks and barks and barks.  Frothing at the mouth barking.  (This IS LEGAL by the way.  Dogs are allowed to bark in the Flyball building.  At UFLI Nationals, they even provided all of us with earplugs for the barking.)  Because of this, I try to keep her crated (which equals calm) until it is our turn to race.  I have not done much to try to stop the barking because I’m just elated that she loves the sport now.  (For those of you who ran with me in Blacksburg, you probably remember Callie running OUT of the ring and building because she was terrified of all the noise.  Since we have overcome that obstacle, I am just glad that she wants to play the game.)

On that note, we came into the racing building Saturday afternoon with three heats left in the race before ours.  Callie and I stood alongside the wall with several other people to wait.  She, of course, was barking like crazy.  The next thing I know, a different Jack Russell Terrier (the height dog for the team racing) ran OUT OF THE RING and attacked Callie.  All I can say is thank God Callie is so focused on the sport and wanting to run because it barely fazed her.  I, of course, was in tears again.  (Emotional much?  My goodness!)  Because the team still had two more heats (yes, the judge let the damn dog continue to race), my teammates and some people from other teams built a human wall around us.  I was so shaken from this happening to me a second time that I couldn’t even think to stand up and try to move away.  When their race was over, Callie went into the ring, ran a clean warm-up to shake off any lingering memories and then finished our race.  And that was instance #2.

I must have been carrying a scent that said “Jack Russell Terriers, please attack my dogs.”

And then the Hokies lost.  That was my Saturday.  Thank you for letting me vent.  It was much needed.  And again, it could have been any breed, and I know all Terriers are not this way.

And here are some pictures from Flyball:

IMG_2016 IMG_2025

Envy wanted to go in with all the big kids…

IMG_2028Can you see the sleeping Farm Dog?

IMG_2029 IMG_2030

Envy loved the air conditioned camper!

IMG_2032 IMG_2035

Envy loves her sister!  And look at our Mostly Harmless BC girlies!

DSC_0040 DSC_0042

On a happier note, I read this article It Takes a Pack to Raise a Puppy by Suzanne Clothier who gave some pointers for humans trying to raise a puppy:

  • Tolerate puppies – they know not what they do
  • Teach puppies – they know not what to do
  • Be consistent with puppies – they forget things quickly
  • Keep lessons short – puppies are easily distracted
  • Puppies need to play – that why puppies are born in litters
  • Good social skills & manners are made, not born
  • Remember that puppy permits have expiration dates
  • Don’t wait till the puppy has stolen your bone to teach him about manners
  • Be careful what you teach a puppy – someday, he might be in charge
  • Tired puppies are always good puppies

Quote of the Day:

“Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” – Joshua J. Marine

And I have yet another peach recipe for you!  I decided to make this Peaches and Cream Bundt Cake which I have made in the past.  However, I think my Blueberry Buttermilk Bundt Cake was a better recipe.  The peach cake was extremely dense while the blueberry one was much lighter (you could put peaches in the batter for the blueberry one if you wanted).  But, again, my office loved it!

Peaches & Cream Bundt Cake

Peaches and Cream Bundt Cake

Ingredients

–          3 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature, divided

–          3 cups plus 2 tbsp AP flour, divided

–          1 tsp baking soda

–          1 tsp fine salt

–          4 peaches, peeled, pitted and diced small

–          2 ¼ cups sugar, divided

–          6 large eggs, room temperature

–          1 ¼ cups sour cream

–          1 ¼ tsp vanilla extract

–          1 ¼ tsp ground cinnamon

Directions

–          Preheat oven to 350.  Butter and flour a 14-cup bundt pan.

–          Whisk together 3 cups flour, baking soda, and salt.  Toss peaches with remaining 2 tbsp flour to coat.

–          In a large bowl, using a mixer, beat 2 sticks of butter and 2 cups sugar on medium-high until fluffy and pale yellow.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, until incorporated.  With mixer on low, add flour mixture in 2 additions, alternating with sour cream, and beat until combined.

–          Fold peaches and vanilla into the batter and transfer to the pan.  Tap pan firmly on counter several times to remove any air bubbles and smooth top.

–          Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 1 hour.  Transfer pan to a wire rack set over a rimmed baking sheet; let cool 15 minutes.

–          Meanwhile, melt remaining 1 stick butter.  Combine remaining ¼ cup sugar and cinnamon.  Loosen cake from pan, then invert onto rack.  Brush cake with butter and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon-sugar.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Envy, Puppy Tips, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Damn Jack Russell Terriers This Weekend (Recipe: Peaches and Cream Bundt Cake)

  1. Becca says:

    Glad both of your girls are OK! What an awful weekend.

  2. Pingback: Quick Book Review: Body for Life by Bill Phillips (Recipe: Baked Chicken Meatballs) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

