Inflammation of the Bursa–WTF? (Recipe: Eggplant Parmesan Bread Pizza)

So, I went to the doctor on Wednesday.  There was good news and bad news.  I am convinced you can never only get good news from a doctor.  Those guys, I swear.

Anyway, the good news:  He thinks my IT Band is ready to go!  He could feel the length of the muscle and where is connected around the knee and said he felt a “healthy” tightness.  It was not like a “guitar string” as he put it.  He thinks all the hip strengthening and stretching and weightlifting has helped!  Hooray!

But there must be bad news because I still have pain while I run.  When he pressed his thumb on a certain spot by my knee, there was pain.  That spot?  Where the IT Band overlaps the joint.  Between the IT Band and the joint there is a small fluid-filled sac called a bursa.  It’s job is to provide a cushion between bones and tendons and/or muscles around a joint to reduce friction between the bones and allow free movement.  Apparently it has a consistency similar to that of a raw egg white.  Maybe you didn’t need that visual??  This one might be better:

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Courtesy of Wikipedia

He said that when the bursa gets inflamed or irritated it can no longer properly do it’s job of reducing friction when I’m pounding along the pavement.  Hence, I feel pain.

My options?  Well, he could give me an injection and try to hit the bursa to reduce the inflammation.  This is a temporary fix.  Like if I were to run the Boston Marathon next week.  Ha.  However, this is also hit or miss in that sometimes it is difficult to inject the exact spot that needs the cortisone.

My other option:  physical therapy.  Therefore, I began PT today.  I will be going twice a week for an unknown amount of time.  Thank goodness for health insurance!

So, my physical therapist’s name is Kyle.  That is just so I can refer to him by name than always saying “my physical therapist”.  Today we mainly had the introductory meeting and only a small bit of therapy.  Here is what I learned:

1. My left leg is shorter than my right leg.  By a few centimeters.  Yup.  That’s correct.  Remember how I told you my pelvis was not aligned?  Well, it still isn’t aligned and my left leg is shorter because of it.

2. I have a “true uplift”.  In other words, the left side of my pelvis is positioned higher than my right side.  This causes strain on the IT band.

3. I have bursitis.  Apparently having bursitis in the knee is a rare thing.  He has “rarely seen this before”.  Oh, good.  Now I am a mini science experiment.

4. He could feel the inflammation (aka the fluid) in the bursa in my left knee, and there was an obvious difference between my left and right bursa.

5. “We have plenty to work on.”  Goody! Haha.

So, the first thing Kyle did was try to lower the position my left pelvis by pulling on my left leg in order to make my legs more even.  He said just that little bit of work made a pretty big difference, but we will continue working on this because the imbalance will force my right leg to compensate which could cause future injuries.

Next, he put a bandage on my leg that is filled with medicine with a contraption on top that emits electrodes that are the same charge as the medicine so that the medicine is propelled through the tissue in my leg to the bursa.  This is to reduce inflammation.  Before he put it on he warned me that a past patient told him that the pain was like getting burned by a curling iron.  It wasn’t quite that bad, but there was definitely a stinging sensation.  More like Novocaine when you go to the dentist except that you don’t get numb, so that stinging feeling keeps coming.

And there is one really cool thing I get to do, though!  I will get to start running on their Anti-Gravity treadmill at some point!  He said he would start me probably at 70%-80% of my body weight!  That way I can start getting back into running shape without the full impact of running!  How cool is that??

So, you will be getting updates on PT.  I’m scheduled to go twice a week until I have been told otherwise.  This is yet another adventure that you get to embark on with me!  And hopefully, I will be ready to run the Disney Half-Marathon in January with no problems!!

Because I can’t run (surprise, surprise), here have been my workouts for the last few days:

– Friday:  hip strengthening; 18.9 mile indoor ride; 1.25 mile walk; Insanity Class

– Saturday:  4.5 mile walk

– Sunday:  19.2 mile indoor ride

– Monday:  25 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 16 mile indoor ride; 1.25 mile walk

– Tuesday:  25 minutes hip strengthening + abs; 8 minutes rowing; 17.1 mile indoor ride

Random Fact:  Of the 28 women who have served as CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, 26 were married, 1 was divorced and only 1 had never married.

Quote of the Day (Allison’s favorite quote from my last blog post):

“Maybe it was the bourbon, but this [Peach Snickerdoodle Cobbler] is by far my favorite peach dessert that I have made thus far!” – Me

We got more eggplant in our CSA last week, so I decided to make this Eggplant Parmesan Bread Pizza!  Not too shabby!  And a good way to eat some eggplant!

Eggplant Parmesan Bread Pizza

Eggplant Parmesan Bread Pizza

Ingredients

–          2 small, firm eggplants

–          ¼ cup EVOO

–          Salt and pepper

–          1 onion finely chopped

–          2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

–          One 14.5 oz can diced tomato

–          Basil

–          1 loaf ciabatta bread, split

–          ½ cup parmesan

–          8 slices smoked mozzarella

Directions

–          Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Halve the eggplants lengthwise, and using a small, sharp knife, score into small crosshatch cubes, being careful not to cut through the skins.  Drizzle with 3 tbsp EVOO and season with salt and pepper.  Place cut side down on a baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes

–          Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, heat the remaining 1 tbsp EVOO and heat pan over medium heat.  Add the onion and garlic and cook until softened.  Stir in tomatoes and season with salt and pepper.  Stir in basil.  Keep warm over low heat

–          Scoop out the eggplant flesh and spread it on the bread.  Top with the tomato mixture, parm, and mozzarella.  Bake for about 5 minutes or until cheese melts.

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

