Running a Relay? (Recipe: Roasted Eggplant and Couscous)

Spoiler Alert:  This post is a little bit all over the place.

Relay events are picking up in popularity!  According to a Runners World poll, 32% of runners have participated in a relay and 43% have put it on their to-do list. I ran in a relay in November 2011–two weekends after I ran my first marathon.  I was part of a team raising money and awareness for autism.  Our team had a blast, and I would definitely do one again!

Runners World gave some suggestions on recovery and repeating if you are running more than once in your relay.

1. Don’t immediately sit down after you finish your leg.  Walk and stretch for 5-10 minutes.  If you have to immediately hit the van, get out whenever you can to move around.

2. Travel with a foam roller to loosen up tight muscles between legs and to prevent soreness.

3. If you are participating in an overnight relay, sleep whenever possible.

4. HAVE FUN!!  Take the time to cheer, chat and laugh together!

On Sunday, my sister and I were a bit sore from the race on Saturday.  But we didn’t let that stop us from having fun before she had to fly back to ATL!  (BTW, that was my 7th half-marathon!  I have done 7 half-marathons and 2 full-marathons, but I’ve repeated 2 states.  So I am still at 7 of 50 states…I have a long way to go.  I better get this IT Band better!)

Injury

The pups had a blast in the morning!  We took them to this little park in Fitchburg that has some paved and grass trails and a little pond.  O.M.G.  They raced and jumped in the water and had such a good time.  You could just tell they were on top of the world!  And Envy has a fantastic recall!  If she were halfway around the pond and I called for her, she would come racing!  It made Mom so happy!

Do you see that little tail??

Do you see that little tail??

IMG_1893 IMG_1897

And then we had Flyball practice to which Allison brought Miller’s donuts.  YUM.  Only the best in Madison.  I swear.  Callie did great with her passing drills and distraction work!  And Envy worked on recalls on the flat to the tug! (And distraction work, too!)  We found out that Envy is definitely a Mama’s girl.  She LOVES running to Mom.  She didn’t have as much fun running away from Mom to someone else holding the tug.  Although, she did fairly well for Kathryn, so maybe it is a familiarity thing.  Once she is familiar with some of the other members of the team, maybe she will run to them too.  This girl has some legs on her! I swear!  I can’t wait to see all the things she will be able to do!

After Flyball, Kath and I went to the Monona Terrace and down to the lake since the pups were exhausted.

IMG_4153 IMG_4154

And had lunch at The Old Fashioned.  I couldn’t let her leave Madison without trying fried cheese curds!  I think some of the best fried cheese curds in Madison are here.  Brunch was delicious! But I totally want to go back because the BLT that the lady next to me got looked amazing.

IMG_1898 IMG_1900[1]

Then we hung out with the pups until Kath’s flight later in the afternoon.  It was such a wonderful visit! I am so glad she came and that I got to run the half-marathon with her!

And I’m super excited about this upcoming weekend! I know it is only Monday, but I am still allowed to be excited! =)

So, I have been reading this book The Power of Positive Dog Training.  I have found it very useful so far!  And it is a pretty easy read!  One thing I have learned is that there are several subgroups of calming signals within dogs:  appeasement (active submission), deference (passive submission), displacement, stress signs and threat (dominance) displays.  Well, Callie has appeasement written all over her!  From the book:

“Active submission may also be referred to as attention-seeking behavior:  nuzzling, licking, jumping up, paw lifts and pawing motions, “smiling”, teeth clacking, crouching, pretzeling, play-bows, and sometimes excitement urination.”

If you know this pup of mine at all, you know that this describes her in a heartbeat.

Workouts Update:

Wednesday:  30 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 50 minutes elliptical

Thursday: 25 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 19.1 mile indoor ride; 9.41 mile outdoor ride

Friday: hip strengthening + 18.6 mile indoor ride; 2.3 mile walk; Insanity Class (love this class!)

Saturday: hip strengthening + 13.31 mile run (Mini Marathon!!) + 2.75 mile walk

Sunday: 20 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 18.4 mile indoor ride; 1.75 mile walk

In terms of cycling, I have ridden a total of 911.11 miles since training began.  As of Week 11 of our Century Ride training, we should be at 992 miles.  I’m not too far behind!  It’s because of all my traveling and craziness!  I can’t believe Door County is less than 3 weeks away!  Yay!

Quote of the Day:

“The human body is capable of amazing physical deeds.  If we could just free ourselves from our perceived limitations and tap into our internal fire, the possibilities are endless.”  – Dean Karnazes

In an effort to use up some of my CSA veggies, I decided to make this Roasted Eggplant and Couscous recipe.  I have made it before, and it is good, but just not as good as I remember…

Roasted Eggplant and Couscous

Roasted Eggplant and Coucous

Ingredients

  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 small onion
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup of couscous
  • 2 cups of water or broth
  • 1 fistful of pine nuts
  • Shredded parmesan or feta

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 450*.
  2. Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise.  Remove the seedy entrails .  Rub it with some olive oil and salt+pepper.
  3. Place the eggplant in a shallow baking dish and bake for 20 minutes.
  4. When the timer goes off, pour 1/3 of the tomatoes into one eggplant half and 1/3 into the other.  Spread the remaining 1/3 across the bottom of the baking dish.  Return to the oven for another 20 minutes.
  5. Saute the garlic, onion, and pepper for a minute or so.
  6. Add the couscous and stir for about 15 seconds.
  7. Add the water/broth to the couscous and simmer for 2-3 minutes. Turn the heat off and let the couscous rest, covered until the timer goes off for the eggplant.
  8. Remove the eggplant from the oven and fill each half with some of the couscous mixture.  Spread the remainder out as evenly as possible around the eggplant in the baking dish.  It should be resting in all sorts of delicious, half-burned tomato juice puddles.
  9. Bake for another 15 minutes.  Sprinkle pine nuts and Parmesan on top. Broil for 2-3 minutes.
This entry was posted in Callie!, Century Ride, Envy, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Puppy Tips, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running a Relay? (Recipe: Roasted Eggplant and Couscous)

  1. Pingback: Kettlebell Anyone? (Recipe: Peach Pie Crumble Bars) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

