Furman Feels Like Home (Recipe: Chocolate Pound Cake)

I traveled to Greenville, South Carolina over the weekend for a wedding.  Greenville is where I grew up in a sense because it is where I went to college.  It was so nice to be back home.  Everything was so familiar, yet things have changed in the five years that I have been gone.

Spoiler alert:  There are tons of pictures in this post.

I flew in Thursday night and my bestie Sam picked me up from the airport!  (The one I traveled with to Madagascar!)  It was so wonderful to see her!  We stayed with one of her Chi O family members, Lisa, who welcomed us with wine and cookies:

IMG_1322 IMG_1323 IMG_1324IMG_1306

I will say that the cookies were on a very pretty tray when we arrived.  This is the second batch she made us because we ate all of the first batch!!  These two girls made me laugh for hours!!  I am now an adopted member of Sam’s Chi O fam. =)

On Friday after finally convincing someone to let us work out at a gym facility for free, we met my mom for lunch.  She drove up from Columbia to see me! =)  It was so good to spend some time with her!  And we had this delicious dessert:

I pretty much ate all weekend.  It's fine.

I pretty much ate all weekend. It’s fine.

After lunch, Sam and I meandered through campus.  We stopped at the Furman bookstore where we pretty much wanted to buy everything

Aren't these adorable??

Aren’t these adorable??

and then wandered around campus and stopped at the renovated University Center.

In the renovated portion of the UC!

In the renovated portion of the UC!

It was so good to be back on campus.  It almost felt like we had never left.

DSC_0011 DSC_0015 DSC_0020 DSC_0022

DSC_0027 IMG_1295

Isn’t our campus gorgeous?? And doesn’t it look like we had so much fun??  Because we did.

DSC_0016 DSC_0024

IMG_1301 IMG_1320

We had a fabulous time, and narrowly escaped the torrential downpour.  Apparently Greenville has turned into a rainforest since we graduated.

IMG_1321

Saturday morning I got to have lunch with another dear friend, Andrea.  We caught up over breakfast sandwiches at a local coffee shop, and then I got the grand tour of the house that she and her husband are renovating!  Gorgeous!  It had been way too long since we caught up!  How does that happen?  Life is just busy I guess.

Next, it was time for Spill the Beans.  My ALL TIME favorite ice-cream place.  ALL TIME.  Trust me on this one.

IMG_1309 IMG_1310

Chocolate frozen yogurt.  M&Ms.  Oreos.  You can’t go wrong.  And there was even a smurf siting!!  (Don’t ask.)

IMG_1311

Then it was time to get ready for the wedding!

IMG_4029 IMG_4030

The ceremony was beautiful, and Dan and Frances are the cutest couple!  I wouldn’t have missed it for the world!

IMG_4038IMG_4039

IMG_1314 IMG_4051

And their reception was so much fun at the Upcountry Museum!  There were so many Furman alum to catch up with, and so much delicious food to eat!  (Fondue appetizers? Yes, please.)

IMG_4031 IMG_4032

Look at this deliciousness.

Look at this deliciousness.

IMG_4040 IMG_4042 IMG_4044 IMG_4052

The weekend was so wonderful.  I couldn’t have asked for anything more except for a longer stay.  I felt like I was home.

And I know Callie was well taken care of and having an absolute blast at the Flyball tournament this weekend with the Williams-Ostings.  Look at that LRD.

IMG_1313 IMG_1316

As a thank you, I made them Chocolate Pound Cake. From what I was told, Michael enjoyed it.

Chocolate Pound Cake

I did get some good workouts in, though, for as much as I ate this weekend:

Wednesday: 25 minutes hip strengthening + kettlebells; 9 miles indoor bike; 40 minutes glutes and abs class; 25 minutes elliptical

Thursday: 30 minutes hip strengthening + PT exercises; 20.2 miles indoor bike

Friday: 8.8 miles indoor bike; 1.5 miles treadmill run; hip strengthening

Saturday: 7 minutes rowing; 10.5 miles indoor bike; 2 miles treadmill run; 1 mile walk; hip strengthening

Sunday: 65 minutes elliptical; 1.3 mile walk; hip strengthening

You gotta love some good workouts!  And I have to say that there is a world of difference between cycling with and without clips.  I love my clips.  Love.

Quote of the Day:

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.” – Dr. Seuss

Now, go try some of this cake!

Chocolate Pound Cake

Ingredients
– 1 1/3 cups cake flour, sifted
– 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1/2 tsp baking powder
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 2/3 cup butter, room temperature
– 1 1/2 cups sugar
– 3 large eggs, room temperature
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup whole milk

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350*. Grease a 9×5-inch baking pan and line the bottom with a small piece of parchment paper.

– In a medium bowl, sift together cake flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.

– In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time, followed by the vanilla extract.

– Stir 1/3 of the flour mixture into the butter mixture, followed by half of the milk. Stir in an additional third of the flour mixture, followed by the remaining milk. Stir in remaining flour, mixing just until no streaks of dry ingredients remain and batter is uniform. Pour into prepared cake pan.

– Bake for about 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of the cake.

– Allow cake to cool in the pan for 5-10 minutes, then turn it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

