Fears (Recipe: Italian Sausage Strata)

What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

I read an article by Sheryl Sandberg on what you would do and what you could accomplish if you weren’t afraid.  While her article was focused on women, I think it could be applied to men as well.  I have taken several quotes from it that I wanted to share.

“This question speaks to everyone, but I think it has special significance for women.  Fear is at the root of so many of the barriers that women face.  Fear of not being liked.  Fear of making the wrong decision.  Fear of drawing negative attention.  Fear of overreaching.  Fear of being judged.  Fear of failure.  And for those who want to have children, the fear that we can’t be both good employees and good mothers.”

“I know it is pointless to tell someone to be fearless.  I regularly fail to convince myself. But it does help to tell ourselves to fight our fears at every stage of our lives.  In school, don’t be afraid to raise your hand.  When you are attending a meeting, don’t be afraid to sit at the table. Don’t be afraid to offer your opinion.  Don’t be afraid of wanting to find a life partner who will support you in achieving your dreams.  And don’t be afraid to be fully engaged in your career, even as  you plan to have a family.”

As much as I believe in what she says, I think it is a very difficult thing not to be afraid.  While the unknown is exciting, it is also very scary.  Whether it is about a job or a move or a relationship.  You have to trust in your heart that everything is going to work out the way it was intended to.  But sometimes that is super hard.

I found this quote by Marlo Thomas about women rather humorous: “A man has to be Joe McCarthy in order to be called ruthless.  All a woman needs to do is put you on hold.”

In other news, I got a surprise in the mail the other day!

I love packages!  And mail!  You see, back in March a friend in Blacksburg starting a business asked if I would support him and his partner by buying a t-shirt.  The shirts had not yet arrived, but if I bought one he was going to send it in the mail.  Of course I would support his business, so I wrote him a check.  Then I waited and waited and waited and had finally given up hope on my shirt.  And then not too ago, it arrived!  Along with my money back because it was so late!  And with brownies!  I was so surprised and excited!  I wore the shirt the very next day to the gym!

IMG_1251

Last couple of workouts:

Monday: 25 minutes hip strengthening + weights; 25 minutes elliptical; 25 minutes pool running; 1.9 mile walk

Tuesday: 30 minutes kettlebells + hip strengthening; 12.8 miles indoor bike; 1.01 mile run; 2.7 mile walk

Callie has been getting in quite a few miles lately!  Too bad none of them are runs with mom!

And tomorrow I head off to a wedding for the weekend in Greenville, South Carolina, so I won’t be posting for a couple of days.  I am extremely excited for the trip!  But if you are having a lazy weekend or having people over, you should definitely make this for breakfast (or I’ve been eating it for dinner because breakfast for dinner is kinda my thing).  I will definitely make it again in the future.

Italian Sausage Strata

Italian Sausage Strata

Ingredients

  • 1 pound bulk Italian sausage
  • 1 loaf sourdough bread (1 pound), cubed
  • 1 jar (4.5 ounces) sliced mushrooms, drained
  • 10 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 cups half-and-half cream (I used fat-free!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup shredded Italian cheese blend

Directions

  • In a large skillet, cook sausage over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. Place bread cubes in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Layer with mushrooms and sausage.
  • In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, cream, mustard and salt. Pour over top; sprinkle with cheese. Cover and refrigerate overnight.
  • Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 60-65 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. (Cover loosely with foil if top browns too quickly.) Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.
  • Serve immediately.

Adapted from Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fears (Recipe: Italian Sausage Strata)

  1. Becca says:

    Have fun in Gvegas! Give Furman my love.

Leave a Reply

