Never a Dull Moment (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles)

I think Mother Nature is conspiring against us.  Us being Allison and me and our plans to go to the Farmer’s Market.

Two or three (or four??) weeks ago we had planned to go to the Farmer’s Market, and it rained.  No p!  We went to Hubbard’s Diner (yum!) for breakfast instead. Then there were weekends of Flyball and craziness.  So, we planned to go to the Farmer’s Market this Saturday.  What happens? Thunderstorms that last from 9:30pm Friday night to mid-day Saturday.  Really??  Darn you, Mother Nature!  Now, the plan is to go next weekend.  Fingers crossed!

Instead, I went to the gym followed by Rally Obedience, cleaning my old townhouse (I turn over the keys on Monday!) and then went on a ride with Z and Kim.  For the ride, Z led the way and had mapped out a new loop through the Arb and John Nolen drive.  It was super fun!  As for Rally Obedience, Callie has made soo much progress!  She is still very nervous, but is less stressed when she is working for me.

Then Kim, being the interior design genius that she is, offered to help me set up my new place! I am feeling soooooo much better about it!  I really do think that this apartment is the perfect size for me and Callie, and everything seems to fit just right now!

Sneak peak of my dinette area!

Sneak peak of my dinette area!

I have unpacked ALL of my boxes (yes, all of them, and I just moved in on Thursday) and even started to hang pictures!!  I’m extremely close to being settled.  Not to mention, Callie loves our back porch, particularly bossing around the other dogs and their owners who walk by:

IMG_1176[1]

However, with Callie there is never a dull moment.  She went with me to clean the old townhouse.  We had pottied before, but as soon as I started vacuuming and cleaning my room, she squatted right there in the middle of the room while looking at me.  Yup.  The only other time she has done that was after she was boarded for nearly two weeks over Christmas–it is her way of saying “Take that, Mom. I am not very happy with you right now.”  She is stressed about the move.

Next, we started cleaning the downstairs.  She yapped at the door (her sign of wanting to go out), but she had just peed (in my room) and she had pooped just an hour or so beforehand.  I ignored her thinking she just wanted to be outside instead of in the empty house.  BAD IDEA.  Next thing I know, I turn around and she is having explosive diarrhea in the living room.  Fabulous.  That one was my own fault.  Thank goodness for the amazing Allison and Michael who are letting me borrow their steam vac later to clean it up before my inspection Monday morning.  Sheesh.

Like I said, never a dull moment.

However, my LRD is totally awesome.  Look at these pics that were taken of her at the UFLI Qualifiers:

Her feet are definitely up there!

Her feet are definitely up there!

She's loving this!!

She’s loving this!!

Callie is our height dog on this team.

Callie is our height dog on this team.

Oh yea, look at that box turn!

Oh yea, look at that box turn!

Our girlies!  Look at those faces!

Our girlies! Look at those faces!

Isn’t she something??? She makes her Mom so proud!

Fun Fact: Did you know that in India only 18 out of every 1,000 people own a car??  In China the figure is 58, while in most European countries it is more than 500! India’s level of car ownership per capita is even lower than in Sudan or Afghanistan!

I have had lots of good workouts this week, and I am actually sore today!  Don’t you love that feeling??  Knowing that you worked hard and now your muscles are repairing themselves and making you stronger?  I love it.

Columbus

Workouts:

Wednesday: 10 minutes of rowing; 30 minutes elliptical; short walk with Miss Callie; 7.45 miles indoor cycling; 45 minutes PT exercises + other weights

Thursday: 5 minutes rowing; 45 minutes elliptical; 30 minutes weights

Friday: 13.5 miles indoor cycling; 25 minutes pool running

Saturday: 10 minutes rowing; 50 minutes elliptical; 35 minutes RC exercises; 17.17 mile outdoor ride

That puts my cycling mileage at 102.76 outdoor miles and 67.35 indoor miles!  Woohoo!

Quote from Adulting on moving (part 2):

“Moving involves about 137 interconnecting processes, every single one of which is a huge pain in the ass.”

So, I haven’t really cooked since I’ve been in the new place.  But here is a recipe I made awhile back but never posted!  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles.  You can’t go wrong.  Just my opinion.

Cookie Dough Pops

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Ingredients

– 2 1/2 cups AP flour

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

– 3/4 cup granulated sugar

– 3/4 cup brown sugar

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1/3 cup skim milk

– 1 cup mini chocolate chips

– chocolate for dipping

Directions

– Beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add milk and vanilla.

– Stir in flour and salt; mix on a low speed until incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips.

– Cover and chill for one hour.

– When dough is firm enough to handle, form dough into one inch balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with wax paper.

– Dip cookie dough balls into melted chocolate.  Chill until set.

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

