Pay It Forward (Recipe: Moroccan-Spiced Sweet Potato Salad)

Pay It Forward.

It was a movie.  It was a book.  I read the book.  I haven’t seen the movie.

The idea in the book was simple. Do a good deed for three people and ask them to “pay it forward” to three others who need help. The main character of the book/movie envisions a movement of kindness and goodwill spreading across the world. While I do not envision such a large movement, I took part in a Facebook thingy (very technical term, I know) back in January where I would send a random gift to a handful of people throughout the year to brighten their day.  In turn, they would somehow “pay it forward”.

In the last two weeks, I have sent out two of my “pay it forwards”.  They weren’t fancy by any means, but it is the thought behind them.  And putting each of those boxes in the mail brought a smile to my face.  I hope it brought a smile to those on the receiving end as well. =)

I think you all know that I am a Taylor Swift fan.  Well, when I went to see The Great Gatsby, I saw her Diet Coke commercial.  I have no idea if it is just one that is played at the theater or if it is on TV, too (I don’t really watch TV). But I wanted to share because I’m a fan!  On that note, her song “Red” has been in my head all day–probably because it played while on my run this morning.  Great song! And it was definitely the perfect morning for a run!

Speaking of running, I have had quite a few good workouts this week:

Tuesday: 45 minutes elliptical; 9 minutes rowing; 25 minutes PT and other exercises

Wednesday: 15.1 mile ride on an indoor bike; 15 minutes elliptical; 25 minutes PT and other exercises

Thursday: 6.05 mile run; 10 min elliptical; 10 minutes abs

I’m a little nervous about workouts this weekend because we have a Flyball tournament, and my IT band/knee issue hasn’t completely worked itself out. And we also tend to eat like crap, but calories don’t count while playing Flyball, right??

Now, I am going to brag on Miss Callie a little bit.  We finished Agility 1 tonight, and we actually got to run through our first “real” course!  It consisted of the chute, A-frame, tunnel, two jumps, a table, and weave poles.  Callie did awesome and loved every second of it (the complete opposite of the Rally Obedience class we are also taking–maybe my child is just not obedient?)!  She even got complimented by three of her classmates on being a  natural and running the course so smoothly for her first time!  That’s my LRD!  We celebrated by playing some Chuck It at the dog park and watching this beautiful sunset:

IMG_1093

Quote of the day:

“Love because it is the only true adventure.”

So, I was an avid Google Reader person.  I was extremely disappointed when I found out that we would no longer have it after July 1.  I have now turned to Bloglovin to follow my blogs, but I am trying to make most of the recipes that I “starred” on Google Reader before it disappears!  This is one of them!  Only four more to make!

Tomorrow is FRIDAY!!  TGIF!

Moroccan-Spiced Sweet Potato Salad

Moroccan-Spiced Sweet Potato Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup finely diced yellow onion
  • Sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 pound sweet potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons Grade B maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup almonds or shelled pistachios, toasted

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a deep skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and a generous pinch of salt and sauté until slightly golden, about 5 minutes. Add the ginger, cumin, and paprika and sauté for 1 minute. Add the sweet potatoes, water, orange juice, and 1/2 teaspoon salt and stir to combine. Decrease the heat to medium-low, cover, and cook for 15 minutes.

Uncover and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sweet potatoes are tender and the liquid is reduced to almost a glaze, about 5 minutes. Add the lemon juice and maple syrup, and stir gently to combine. Taste; you may want to add a pinch of salt or squeeze of lemon juice. Transfer to a bowl and sprinkle with the almonds/pistachios. Serve at room temperature.
Adapted from Epicurious

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

