Tomorrow is National Running Day! (Recipe: Roasted Basil Butter Parmesan Shrimp)

June 5.  Do it.  Go for a run.

Finish Line_Starting Line

I’m so excited to spend National Running Day with my GOTR girls!  We will definitely get some running in tomorrow for our last practice before our 5K on Saturday!  I can’t believe Girls on the Run is coming to an end!  I have had a blast with these 3rd, 4th and 5th graders!

I bought them these glitter headbands as a surprise for race day!  And I think I’ll make them chocolate chip cookies for tomorrow.  They told me that I make the best home-made chocolate chip cookies that they have ever had! They could just be boosting my ego so that I bring them more sweets to practice, but that’s okay…I’ll take it. =)

Last practice we did our community service project!  We let each of the girls pick out a stuffed animal, and then they wrote a letter of introduction for their animals.  We are donating them to the Ronald McDonald House of the American Family Children’s Hospital in Madison for children who need some cheering up!  They did such a great job! I was so proud of them!

IMG_1057

Need ideas on how to celebrate National Running Day?  Here you go!  10 Ways to Celebrate National Running Day.

My workout update:

– Saturday: 3 mile run + Flyball

– Sunday: 3 mile run + Flyball

– Monday: 20 min PT exercises; 1 mile walk; 55 minute spin intervals class (18 miles of riding)

– Tuesday: 15 minutes weights; 8 minutes rowing; 1 hour spinning with Kim (13.3 miles of riding); 4.55 mile run (Hooray! I’ve upped my mileage again!)

And look at the visitor we had at my spin class on Monday:

IMG_1058

And after cycling tonight, Kim and I went to The Old Fashioned for drinks and dinner–I  mean we had to put back on all those calories (plus more) that we burned, right?  Well, in the magazine I was just reading, there was an article on the “Wisconsin Cheese Trail”, and The Old Fashioned made an appearance!!  As did the Dane County Farmer’s Market!  Take a look!

IMG_1042 IMG_1048IMG_1043 IMG_1046

Last night I made this delicious recipe for dinner. Uber easy and uber impressive.  You should definitely give it a whirl! I adapted it to how many shrimp I wanted to have for dinner, but I put the full recipe below.

Roasted Basil Butter Parmesan Shrimp

Roasted Basil Butter Parmesan Shrimp

Ingredients (serves 2-4)

– 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

– 3 tablespoons fresh chopped basil

– 2 pounds raw, peeled and deveined shrimp

– 1 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1 teaspoon pepper

– 2 tablespoons olive oil

– 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan

– additional fresh basil and cilantro for sprinkling

Directions

– Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

– Combine butter, basil and 1/4 teaspoon salt together in a small bowl, mixing to combine. Place butter on a piece of plastic wrap, shaping it into a ball or a log and wrapping it up. Set in the fridge to harden.

– Add shrimp to a large baking dish. Cover in salt, pepper and olive oil, tossing to coat. Roast for 10-12 minutes (or longer or shorter for the size of your shrimp) then remove and slice basil butter over top. Cover in Parmesan and another sprinkling of herbs, then serve immediately.

Courtesy of How Sweet It Is

This entry was posted in GOTR, Individual Workouts, Overall Health and News, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomorrow is National Running Day! (Recipe: Roasted Basil Butter Parmesan Shrimp)

  1. Pingback: Orlando, Part 2! (Recipe: Parmesan-Coated Potato Wedges) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Quick Book Review: The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman (Recipe: Parmesan Crusted Sweet Potato Galette) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

