Flyball = Fantastic; Rally Obedience = Terrible (Recipe: Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting)

First, I just have to say to all of you Flyballers out there–I know you want me on your team just for the fantastic treats I bring to practices and tournaments.  And I have a darn cute LRD besides!  Who I was so proud of this weekend and is now zonked out on the sofa! However, Callie and I are devoted to Mostly Harmless. =) We love you guys!

DSC_0012

Saturday afternoon after the terrible Rally Obedience class (Callie, for some reason, was SUPER stressed in that class and could not focus to save her soul!  And her poor tail did not come out from between her legs for the entire hour!  This, of course, made me terribly upset! Thank you, Allison, for making me feel better!), Callie and I set out with Allison and Riddle for Amana, Iowa to play some Flyball! The car was packed, can you tell?

IMG_0990

And my 2004 Ford Explorer that I got as my high school graduation present, hit 100,000 miles as soon as we pulled into the Flyball facility!  Of course, I had to take a picture. And, yes, it was 80* in Iowa!  Yay for summer!

IMG_0991

I had not seen Miss Callie run in a tournament since the fall because of my crazy schedule, and I had an ABSOLUTE BLAST running her this weekend!  And I have an amazing team besides!  I can’t speak for them, but I had a fabulous Saturday night and Sunday!

On Saturday evening, Duncan was awarded his Iron Dog award which is for competing in NAFA Flyball tournaments for 10 consecutive years!  Woohoo!! Way to go, Duncan!  You’d never guess that he was 12!

DSC_0016 DSC_0028

Then Saturday night we made these amazing s’mores post dinner–you know you want some:

DSC_0035 DSC_0040DSC_0042 DSC_0045

We always have such great bonding time around the campfire!  I love that so many of the facilities where we play Flyball have campgrounds like this!

Saturday night and early morning, we had awesome thunderstorms!  I think I have mentioned before how much I love thunderstorms. And here was our sunrise post-thunderstorm–it was much prettier in person:

DSC_0053

And Sunday was full of racing!  It was beautiful, although windy, weather!  I was just excited for the sun!

Callie had her best time ever!  Unless she has run faster for her godparents (Allison and Michael), and I am just unaware!  Miss Callie ran a 4.4 for me in the pack this weekend!  I was SUCH the proud mom! I never thought my LRD would be that quick!  And she only bobbled the ball once out of 24 heats, but she still managed to grab it and make it over all 4 jumps! And she passed into Riddle and Connor so so well! I heart the Mostly Harmless team for helping me work with her and get her this far!

All I kept thinking about was her first tournament ever when all she wanted to do was run out of the building because she was terrified of the building and all of the noise!  She has come so far!

And of course I took other pictures of some of our pups–every time I tried to get the cutest picture of Elsie (our Bossy Aussie) with the grass hanging from her chin, she would start barking at me! She didn’t want her picture taken!

DSC_0010 DSC_0048

IMG_0993 IMG_0995IMG_0078

And on the way home, Callie was beat–how this first position was comfy is beyond me!

IMG_1005

IMG_0997

All in all, this was a fantastic Flyball weekend!

So, for the tournament I needed a quick but tasty looking recipe.  Flyball weekends are notorious for horrible eating, so I did not do well in that department between the cookies and s’mores and blueberry lemon bread and croissants…yeah…I will have to be extra good this week!  These cookies were super easy if you ever want to give them a try!

Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies

Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 box Carrot Cake mix
  • 8 oz block cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • Frosting:
  • 8 oz block cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups powdered sugar

Directions

1.  In the bowl of a mixer, combine one block of cream cheese and 1 stick of butter.  Beat on medium until smooth.  Add egg and beat, then add cake mix until a smooth thick dough forms.  Cover and chill for about two hours.

2.  Preheat oven to 350.  Spray baking sheets with nonstick spray or line with parchment paper.  Using a small cookie scoop, scoop dough out into one inch balls.  Roll in powdered sugar, then place on prepared baking sheets and flatten slightly with your hand.

3.  Bake for about 7 minutes, until edges are set but middles are still soft.  Remove cookies to cooling rack to cool completely.

4.  Prepare frosting:  In the bowl of a mixer, beat butter, cream cheese, and vanilla until smooth.  Slowly add powdered sugar, beating on low until just combined.  Increase speed to high and beat for about a minute, until frosting is light and fluffy.  Turn cookies over to the bottom flat side.  Spread with frosting and top with flat side of another cookie.

Or you can always make MY cream cheese frosting recipe.  Because it is the best. =)

Courtesy of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

This entry was posted in Callie!, Food Picture (No Recipe), Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flyball = Fantastic; Rally Obedience = Terrible (Recipe: Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting)

  1. Becca says:

    Looks like Callie had a great weekend! She is so cute.

  2. Pingback: My First Two Humid Runs of the Season (Recipe: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

