I Leave for India TOMORROW! (Recipe: Cake Batter Brownie Snack Cake)

In light of going to India tomorrow for Sapna’s wedding, I thought I should finally go back to that second photography class I took forever ago but never talked about!  Because I WILL be taking hundreds of photos.  There is no doubt about that. I should probably warn Michael (my friend going with me) since we have never traveled together before.

DSC_0198

I am taking my Nikon D60 as well as a small Canon Point and Shoot. I LOVE my Nikon.  It was my birthday present during my first year of graduate school (2009) because there was unfortunate incident that involved my previous camera falling off the kitchen counter over the Christmas holidays.

So, for class we had an assignment to take pictures over the weekend and bring them in to discuss.  This was the weekend I was at Virginia Tech to receive a dissertation award.  Because we had focused quite a bit of our time on shutter speed, I decided to take some action shots.  I also decided to take them on manual.  So not only did I have to fiddle with shutter speed, but I also had to focus AND try to catch my models in the frame!  Not an easy task.  Here are some shots that I took of my first model:

DSC_0077 DSC_0124                                                                    DSC_0127

(I love his shadow in these!)

And my second model:

DSC_0093 DSC_0115 DSC_0121

Not too shabby focusing manually if I do say so myself!

In class we also played around with the white balance setting which was fun. I didn’t really know what white balance was until class:

DSC_0154 DSC_0161 DSC_0165 DSC_0166

I did by a UV filter for my camera before this trip as the instructor recommended. Overall, I really learned a ton from the class, and I am bringing my worksheets with me to read on the plane just to brush up. I can’t wait to share some of my pictures with you all when I get back! And hopefully I will take another photography class soon.

Two quick memos from class:

1. Higher F: better depth of field

2. Reduce the amount of light: lower ISO to 100-200

Yesterday I was reminded that Wednesday is Administrative Professional Appreciation Day.  I was also not so subtly reminded that our administrative assistants LOVE baked goods (cough cough Kelly M.).  So, even though I have been packing to go out of the country (which is done by the way!!) and packing my dog, I managed to throw together this super easy recipe I have been wanting to try. Have you noticed I have been into easy recipes lately?? I have not actually eaten any of this yet so I can’t speak to its tastiness.

I made this as soon as I got home from picking Callie up from daycare.  Callie is always super hungry after daycare, so she was making it super obvious that she wanted her dinner while I was baking.  First she stood at her food bowl for awhile making whimpering noises.  Then she walked over to the bin where her food is kept and yipped a couple of times. When I told her to wait, she laid down on the kitchen floor and would periodically let out really big sighs like she couldn’t believe she had to wait a moment longer for her dinner.   It was actually kind of cute. =) I love my LRD.

Cake Batter Brownie Snack Cake

Cake Batter Brownie Snack Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 (15.25 oz) box cake mix (I used vanilla, but Funfetti or yellow would work, too!)
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 “Family Size” box Brownie mix, batter prepared per package directions.

DSC_0194

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Spray 9×13 pan with cooking spray
  3. In mixing bowl combine Funfetti Cake Mix, oil, egg and milk. Beat together for 1 minute, until ingredients are incorporated. Batter will be dense.
  4. Spread batter in the bottom of the prepared pan.
  5. Now make your brownie batter according to the directions on the box.
  6. Pour the brownie batter on top of the Funfetti layer.
  7. Bake approx 25-30 minutes until center is set.
  8. Let cool completely and then frost, if desired. I say you can’t go wrong with chocolate frosting!

Courtesy of Cookies and Cups

This entry was posted in Callie!, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Leave for India TOMORROW! (Recipe: Cake Batter Brownie Snack Cake)

  1. Becca says:

    Love the photos! Have a safe trip and a wonderful time!

  2. Pingback: 2015 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee – Part 2 (Recipe: Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

