What’s Next on the Docket? (Recipe: Chicken Wild Rice Soup)

Now that Boston is over, what is next?

Well, I was supposed to participate on a 50K relay team yesterday with folks from my office which I was super excited about, but I bowed out on Friday because my legs aren’t quite up to snuff yet. My quads and IT band are still bothering me some which is understandable. They need some rest.  Maybe I’ll be able to do the race next year.

However, no matter how bad I am feeling, I am participating in Fleet Feet’s Runners for Boston on Monday night. Running stores all across America are coming together on Monday in support for Boston to bring the community of runners together. Everyone is encouraged to wear Boston Marathon gear, the Marathon colors of blue and yellow or any race shirt. It’s a short run of 3-6 miles, and it is something that I really want to participate in. I encourage anyone in Madison to come out to Fleet Feet tomorrow to participate!  If you aren’t in Madison, you should see if there is a local running club in your area participating!

Then on Wednesday I leave for India!  I think I have mentioned that I’m going to India in a previous post albeit briefly. One of my best friends from graduate school (who is from India) is getting married in Jammu, and I was invited to participate in the wedding! I get to participate in the Henna Ceremony on Friday, the Gifting Ceremony on Saturday, her brother’s Thread Ceremony on Sunday, the wedding on Monday and the reception on Wednesday!! Five days of ceremonies and celebrating!  I’m beyond excited!

And if I’m traveling ALL the way to India (24 hours of travel…), I may as well stay a few extra days to get some sightseeing in, right? So, post-wedding we will be going to Delhi, Agra (to see the Agra Fort and Taj Mahal) and Jaipur (the “Pink City of India”). Between the wedding and reception, we will be taking a quick trip to Amritsar to see the Golden Temple!

I was talking to a friend about my travels, and she said to me, “Do you realize that in a two-month time span you will have embarked on three adventures of a lifetime that people only dream of doing?”  Madagascar. Running the Boston Marathon. India.  When an opportunity presents itself, it is difficult to say no!!

When I return from India, I am signed up for the Glow Time 5K on May 11th.  After this I will be spending a lot of weekends at Flyball tournaments and doing other summer things!  The next race on the schedule is the Madison Mini Marathon on August 17th. I also plan to start training for the Door County Century Ride which is September 8th.  I am debating on whether I should make it a Team-in-Training event where I would raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  I have never raised money for an event before, and it makes me really nervous.

This weekend I was also asked by a friend in Blacksburg if I would consider running the Disney Half-Marathon or Marathon in January!  I am super excited and am like 90% sure I’d do the half-marathon which goes through Magic Kingdom and Epcot!!  There are also openings for the full marathon (which goes through all four parks) and for the Goofy Challenge (which is running the half-marathon on Saturday and the full-marathon on Sunday).  It’s hard for me to commit to another marathon right now, but it is so very tempting!  It would be a fabulous time! I will definitely keep you posted!

Miss Callie was a busy girl today!  We started our morning off at the dog park which was followed by a barking session at the vacuum cleaner (I swear that I have vacuumed almost once a week since I have owned her, and she still doesn’t like the vacuum cleaner!) and ended our evening playing Flyball! She is making progress on her passing!  I was so proud of her! I think she needs to just gain a little more confidence with it, and she will be just fine.  We have lots of Flyball coming up this summer which will give us lots of practice!  The Williams-Osting’s Daycare and Boarding Facility will be taking her to a tournament while I am in India.  (You guys are the best!) Then we will be going to one tournament in May, two in June and she may possibly go to UFLI Nationals in August (even though Mom can’t make it because of a conference). And now she is curled up on the sofa napping.

Last week I made this Chicken and Wild Rice Soup.  It was just meh.  It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t out of this world. It was super easy, though, and makes a ton if you want to give it a try!

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • 1/2 pound fresh mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon chicken bouillon granules
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cream of mushroom soup, undiluted
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine or additional chicken broth
  • 3 cups cooked wild rice
  • 2 cups cubed cooked chicken (I used a rotisserie chicken)

Directions

  • In a large saucepan, combine the first nine ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  • In Dutch oven, melt butter; stir in flour until smooth. Gradually whisk in broth mixture. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Whisk in soup and wine. Add rice and chicken; heat through.

Adapted from Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Callie!, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Next on the Docket? (Recipe: Chicken Wild Rice Soup)

  1. Becca says:

    There’s also the Dopey challenge: 5k on Thursday, 10k on Friday, half on Saturday and full on Sunday. Or the coast to coast where you run one race in FL and one in CA in the same year!

    • Kristen says:

      The Dopey Challenge sounds insane!! (And it is one that is full already! Can you believe it??) I hadn’t heard about the coast to coast one, though!!

Leave a Reply

