My Post-Race Party (Recipe: Pizza Hummus)

First, I want to say thank you to everyone who called, texted, emailed and messaged me on Monday asking about my safety and the safety of my friends. It is unbelievably reassuring to know that I have so many people looking out for me. I truly appreciate it.

My post-race party began with these:

IMG_0898

DELICIOUS sweet potato fries! They were soon followed by an order of regular fries. Because the medic insisted I consume lots of salt, Ellie insisted that I order french fries as soon as we got back to the hotel. I didn’t even shower.  We went to the room to drop off all my things and went straight to the hotel restaurant. Ellie BRILLIANTLY came up with the idea that I should call Joe (MFR guy) and schedule and appointment for Tuesday when I got home.  Brilliant, just brilliant.  I made a 4:45pm appointment for the following afternoon.

Ellie also kindly pointed out every runner we saw who was limping or walking awkwardly so I didn’t feel quite as bad for waddling or needing her assistance to sit down and stand up.  What a friend! =)

After dinner we went back to the room and made phone calls to loved ones.  After I showered and attempted to stretch, we looked for chick flicks to watch.  Of course there was nothing on TV because the news was consumed with the tragic events that had occurred only a few hours before.  And did you know that the hotel was going to charge us $16.99 to rent a movie??  In the words of Ellie, “For that price, we could both actually go to the movies!”  True fact.  So we just chatted.  I ate my dessert (M&Ms) and Ellie ate hers (Lindt chocolate).  And we tried to get some sleep because our alarm was set for 4:15am (3:15am Wisconsin time) to catch a cab to the airport.

That was my post-race party.

We literally rolled out of bed the next morning.  When we got to the airport it was swarming with people from the flights canceled the night before.  The FBI took me aside to ask me questions because of my Boston Marathon sweatshirt.  I made it to my gate, and my flight boarded on time. Then we sat and sat and sat. I had booked this flight so I would get into Chicago with 30-45 minutes before my bus left for Madison.  Well, when I finally got off the plane at the O’Hare airport, I had 9 minutes to catch my bus.  Not to mention that they asked me to check my luggage because the flight was so full. My mom’s advice via text message: “Run”.  Ha.  There was no way that was happening.

Imagine a young girl hobbling like an old woman (with her Boston Marathon sweatshirt on) to baggage claim as fast as her beat up quads could take her.  You can judge.  It’s okay.  I know I would have if I saw me. (Ellie suggested I ask for a wheelchair.) I made it to baggage claim in 5 minutes.  Somehow, my bag ended up being the third or fourth one out, so I struggled toward the bus station thinking that there was no way I would make it on time.  These Van Galder buses stick to their schedules.  I got out to the bus stop at 9:01am just as the bus was pulling off the curb.  I dropped my luggage and started yelling and waving my arms. Some wonderful elderly gentleman pointed to the bus and said, “Madison?” I said yes and he flagged down the bus driver.  I made it! I was going home.

I stopped by the office.  Picked up Miss Callie who got a rave review on her boarding report card with one comment being “My Favorite!” and another being “So cute and adorable!”. Then I made it to my MFR appointment with Joe.  I thanked him profusely for getting me through the race and then told him he had some work to do on my legs.  His review of my state:  your hamstrings are torn up, your IT bands are tight, your quads are ridiculous, your calves are iffy and your lower back needs some work.  Fantastic.

He did an awesome job, and I’m going back on Thursday.  =)  This morning I did some pool walking/running to try to work the lactic acid out a little bit more.  I’m getting there!  Stairs are still tough, but I don’t hobble quite as much!

And my GOTR girls were precious!  I got an energy award for running my marathon!  And they were so excited for me and asked all sorts of questions about my race!  Loved it! And now it’s back to the grindstone!  But boy am I glad to be back!

In food news, I know I haven’t posted any recipes in awhile, so here is a tasty appetizer I have made several times!

Pizza Hummus

Pizza Hummus

Ingredients

– 1 tbsp EVOO

– 1/4 cup tomato paste

– 2 tsp dried oregano

– 1 tsp dried basil

– 2 to 3 cloves garlic

– 3 cups canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed (reserve 1/2 cup liquid)

– 1/4 cup tahini

– 1/4 cup lemon juice

Directions

– Heat EVOO in small skillet; add tomato paste, oregano and basil; cook until slightly toasted (about 2 minutes).

– Transfer tomato paste mixture to a food processor; add the rest of the ingredients and puree until smooth.

Easy peasy!

This entry was posted in Callie!, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

