Pool Running…The Jury Is Still Out (Recipe: Garlic Roasted Cauliflower)

Pool running.  Initial thoughts?  Mine were probably the same as yours:  boring!

When I saw Dr. Bowers, something else he recommended to me was pool running.  Well, “recommended” is putting it too nicely.  He pretty much demanded it if I wanted to keep up my running endurance.  My immediate reaction:  I only have a week until Boston–can it help that much?

Well, I went out and bought a swimsuit.  I actually did not own a swimsuit other than bikinis until last week. And I was not about to wear a bikini to the gym swimming pool. First of all, we are pretty much a giant fishbowl.  There are windows surrounding the entire pool area.  People on treadmills and ellipticals can see you.  People in the stretching area can see you.  People lifting weights can see you.  People in the sauna and steam room can see you.  Heck, even the children in the daycare center have windows that overlook the pool!  A bikini?  No thank you.  Second, a bikini has no support when we are talking about running in a pool.

Which brings me to my next point.  People who swim for real must be flat-chested.  Or else swimsuit companies must think that.  Or maybe it is just that it is still winter in Wisconsin so Dick’s hasn’t invested in swimwear.  But there were only two swimsuits that had any sort of support, and even that was minimal.

Anyway, back to pool running.  Friday was my first attempt.  I ran 1200 meters in the water in 45 minutes. It was pretty boring.  There was no music, and I got some strange looks from some of the other “real” swimmers. The worst part is that the bottom of the pool is NOT made for running.  I got a quarter-size blister on the sole of each of my feet.  Yup.  Way not cool. So, I invested in these water shoes. They make me feel like I am 10 again.  But they work!  I wore them to my second pool running session this morning, and no blisters!  And I was able to go 1300 meters in 45 minutes this morning.  Just think that our pool is 25 meters in length.  This is A LOT of laps.  Yeah.

So, pool running is a big step for me.  If you know me, you may know that I do NOT like being submerged in water.  I do not like getting in pools.  In oceans. In bathtubs.  In those lazy river things at hotels.  Nope.  Not my thing.  I would much rather be in a lounge chair soaking up the sun and reading then swimming in any type of water.  I don’t know why.  I just don’t like it.

You know what also makes me feel like a kid again? Smelling like chlorine. I did like swimming at one point because two of the three houses we lived in growing up had pools, and we lived in them during the summer. And I was even on swim team at one point. But this whole being submerged in water thing is just not for me.

Unless, you have the opportunity to swim under a waterfall in Madagascar…then I may be a bit more willing. But that is like a once in a lifetime opportunity.

IMG_3713 IMG_3717 IMG_3717 IMG_3718

That is totally me on the left hand side of the two bottom pictures.

In other news, Callie and I went to the dog park for the first time since last fall yesterday! She LOVED it.  We played chuck it for like 25 minutes straight.  She was exhausted.  And dog people are so friendly.  It was fun to chat it up with complete strangers at the dog park who you may never see again. This one couple at the cutest, smallest full-grown black lab I had ever seen! I swore it was only like 8 months old!  But no! She was going on three years!  Crazy!

On a cooking note, need a tasty side dish to make this week?  This Garlic Roasted Cauliflower is yummy!  You should give it a try!

And by the way, I can’t believe the weekend is almost over!  Gah!  They go by so fast!

Garlic Roasted Cauliflower

Garlic Roasted Cauliflower

Ingredients

– 1 head cauliflower, cut into small florets

– 1 head garlic, cloves separated and unpeeled

– 2 tbsp EVOO, divided

– 1 tsp salt

– black pepper to taste

– 1/4 pine nuts

– 2 tbsp lemon juice

Directions

– Heat oven to 450*

– Bring small pot of water to a boil, and add the garlic cloves.  Boil for 15 seconds; drain and peel.

– On a rimmed baking sheet, toss cauliflower, garlic, salt, pepper and 1 1/2 tbsp EVOO.

– Spread in a single layer and roast 20-25 minutes stirring twice.

– Transfer cauliflower to a large bowl; add remaining EVOO, pine nuts and lemon juice!

DONE and DONE.

Courtesy of my own recipe book!

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

