Cortisone Injection or Lack Thereof (Recipe: Carrot Cake Trifle)

“Patience is a minor form of despair, disguised as a virtue.” -Ambrose Bierce

Carrot Cake Trifle (RR)

I am desperately trying to be patient, but it is so hard.  On Sunday I ran 3 miles.  Today I made it 0.25 miles.  This is beyond frustrating.

I thought I was going to have some exciting news for you today!  I thought I was going to be able to tell you that I got a cortisone injection to help with the pain and get me through the marathon until my IT band can fully heal.  However, at 9am this morning UW Sports Medicine called to say that my insurance dropped coverage at the Sports Medicine Clinic starting in 2013.  I asked how much a cortisone injection would cost without insurance…you don’t want to know.

Well, maybe you do.  After be redirected to several people, I was told that it would cost approximately $1100.  WHAT!?  The shot itself cost $550.  Then there is a “professional service fee” of $315 and a “physician’s consultation fee” of about $230.  Hmmmmm…yeah…

I called my doctor back and she scheduled me an appointment with an orthopedic on Wednesday, April 3 at a facility that will take my insurance. An hour or so later she called again to say that the orthopedic didn’t do cortisone injections, so she scheduled me an appointment with a sports medicine doctor for April 10.  I called to get more info on the doctor and appointment when the nurse told me that April 10th was only a “consultation” with Dr. Adams.  I would then have to make a follow-up appointment for the next week or the week after.  Umm…that wasn’t going to work.  I have a marathon to run on the 16th. I asked if there was any time she could squeeze me in before that.  She would call me back.

She called back and said that there was no earlier appointment and that there was no way Dr. Adams was going to treat me the same day as my consultation.  Appointment canceled. I called Dr. Gervais’ office back.  They said to call the orthopedic where I originally had the appointment and see what they could do.  I called the orthopedic and the nurse informed me that he no longer did cortisone injections for the IT band because the success rate was low.  :::sigh:::  So, I re-made my appointment with the orthopedic for Wednesday to see if there is anything he can do to help.

I also have two MFRs scheduled–one for Tuesday and one for Friday.

You may be wondering why a cortisone injection.  A cortisone injection releases the inflammation around a joint and thus reduces the amount of pain you feel. It is only a temporary fix.

I have had too many people ask me if this race is worth it and whether I can just do it again another time or put it off until next year.  Yes, it is worth it–it is Boston.  I can’t put it off until next year or do it another time without re-qualifying. I am determined to run this darn race.

The last two weeks have been so defeating.  I have been stressed not only about Boston but other things, too, and running is usually my release. Whether it is outside or on a treadmill, putting in a few miles always makes me feel better.

ANYWAY.

Do you want to know what I made that cream cheese frosting for the other day?  I went to Jessica’s family’s house for Easter, and she asked me to make carrot cake.  I decided to try a different recipe than the last one I posted.  Well, the cake turned into a bit of disaster.  Two of the three 9-inch round cake layers split upon trying to remove them from the pans.  And one of them split more than just down the middle.  It split into like 4 pieces…yeah…so, I decided to make a carrot cake trifle!  It still tasted good!

This recipe has a much stronger carrot flavor than the previous cake.  Both recipes are very moist.  It just depends on if you prefer a citrus-y or carrot-y flavor.  Neither are my favorite but neither are bad. Jess’ family loved it (at least they claimed to like it, and many people asked to take a slice home!).  And Madame M said she preferred this recipe to the last one.  Now you can take your pick!

Carrot Cake Trifle

Ingredients

– 1 1/2 pounds carrots, peeled

– 3 cups flour

– 1 tbsp ground ginger

– 1 tbsp baking powder

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp ground cinnamon

– 3/4 tsp salt

– 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

– 2 1/4 cups sugar

– 3 eggs

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

– Preheat the oven to 375*. Grease three 9-inch round cake pans and coat with flour.

– Bring 4 cups of water to a boil.  Meanwhile, cut 1 lb carrots crosswise 1/3 inch thick. Using a box grater, shred the remaining 1/2 pound of carrots.

– Add the sliced carrots to the boiling water and cook until tender, 10-12 minutes.  Drain and rinse with cold water until cool. Using a food processor, puree until almost smooth.

– In a large bowl, whisk the flour, ginger, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

– Using an electric mixer, beat the butter at high speed until fluffy.  Lower the speed to medium and gradually add the sugar; beat at high speed until fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Mix in 1 tsp vanilla.

– At low speed, add half of the flour mixture, mixing until barely combined.  Mix in the carrot puree and the remaining flour mixture.  Fold in the shredded carrot.

– Divide the batter among the pans; smooth the tops.  Bake until springy in the center, about 25 minutes.  Let the layers cool in the pans for about 10 minutes, then turn onto racks and let cool completely before frosting.

Courtesy of Rachael Ray

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cortisone Injection or Lack Thereof (Recipe: Carrot Cake Trifle)

  1. Becca says:

    So sorry about all the frustration you are dealing with right now. What a bummer!

  2. Ellie Green says:

    So sorry honey! I hope it works out!

  3. Pingback: A Record Year on the Garmin! I Love Me Some PRs! (Recipe: Great American Cookie Factory’s Cookie Cake) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

