Birthday Love! (Recipe: The BEST Cream Cheese Frosting)

I feel so blessed to have such wonderful friends and family!  I have been celebrating my birthday for days!

Last Monday, Madame M brought in a neon orange long-sleeve running shirt which I LOVE!

You know you can’t go wrong with bright running gear!  I think Callie is a little jealous that she can’t wear it!  It will be perfect for spring!  Speaking of spring, it is finally getting warmer in Madison! Yesterday, there were soooo many people outside walking and running.  We are all waiting for the warmer weather, and we are getting antsy!

But I digress!  On Monday, Madame M and another coworker (whose name also begins with M, so I often refer to them as M&M) took me to lunch at La Brioche!  I had not been there in a long time, and it was delicious!

On Tuesday, Kim and I went out for drinks and dinner at Madison’s to celebrate!  Very tasty!  And she gave me THE cutest dishes for my kitchen from Anthropology.  She knows me well =)

Sam, in Africa, sent me birthday presents!  She sent me magnets of the Madagascar flag (I have this thing where I like to get a magnet wherever I travel–I’m not sure why), a super cute Sweaty Band that I am going to wear while running Boston, and earbuds that are AMAZING.  (I had tried hers when we were in Madagascar and fell in love!) Such a surprise! AND Anna sent me baking goodies in the mail!  This cupcake cookbook that I am sooo excited to try!  And a cupcake corer with a matching cupcake dishtowel!  So, you guys better get ready for some cupcakes!

Then on Wednesday (my actual birthday!) I flew to Blacksburg!  My birthday dinner consisted of grabbing a pre-made caprese sandwich as my name was called over the loudspeaker for the “last boarding call”.  I had a tight connection.  However, I was SHOWERED with birthday wishes via phone, text message and Facebook all day long!   Thank you! Thank you!

I flew to Blacksburg because I was attending a banquet on Thursday to accept one of four outstanding dissertation awards that the graduate school gives out.  It was such an honor!  My “Blacksburg Mom” Beverly went to the banquet with me along with my adviser. I was so glad that I went–the graduate school put on a really nice event. And Bev, being the wonderful person that she is, surprised me with a birthday/congratulations gift, too!

With my adviser

With my adviser

Bev and me

Bev and me

Also on Thursday, I met one of my Blacksburg besties, Cheryl, for lunch at Macados.  YUM.  It is by far one of my favorite places to eat in Blacksburg.  We totally polished off our sandwiches and Brownie Pie dessert.  And she surprised me with a gift certificate to Bed, Bath and Beyond–it will definitely be put to good use! My food processor is just about dead, so I think that is what I will probably get!

IMG_0853[1]

After the banquet, we hit up Bull & Bones for a drink and some pool–it was one of the things we did quite frequently when I still lived in Blacksburg.

IMG_3856

On Friday, I flew back to Madison!  Then on Saturday night we had a flyball get together (which are always awesome because I love my team, and we are HILARIOUS–just sayin’) at the Williams-Osting residence.  Along with getting to snuggle with the BCs (they have 3)…

IMG_3859 IMG_3860

…Allison surprised me with this Rocky Road Cookie Cake!

IMG_3857 IMG_3858

I was so surprised!    You see, cookie cake is kind of my birthday thing.  I can’t remember the last time I didn’t have cookie cake to celebrate my birthday.  In grad school, my Mom would bring one up or one of my best friends would make me a homemade one.  In college, my roommates always got me one.  In middle and high school, my parents always got me one.  It’s just tradition.   And Allison kept the tradition going =) I don’t think she knows how much I appreciate it.  It meant soo much!

Needless to say, I have had one of the best birthdays ever. =)  Thank you, everyone!

Now, it is Easter Sunday!  I ran three miles this morning!  Woohoo! And Jess invited me to her family’s house for Easter! Cream cheese frosting was totally involved in the dessert I made.  It is the easiest and BEST cream cheese frosting ever!  It is a MUST try!  Happy Easter!!

Running Tip of the Day: When you hear your feet slapping the ground, you’re approaching exhaustion.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream Cheese Frosting

Beat 1 cup of softened butter and one 8 ounce package of softened cream cheese until smooth.  Gradually add 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract and 5-6 cups of confectioners sugar.

Done and done!

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Love! (Recipe: The BEST Cream Cheese Frosting)

  1. Pingback: Flyball = Fantastic; Rally Obedience = Terrible (Recipe: Carrot Cake Sandwich Cookies with Cream Cheese Frosting) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

  2. Pingback: Buddies Boost Motivation – Back to the Basics (Recipe: Cream Cheese Frosting) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

