Callie Shenanigans (Recipe: Tuscan-Style Roasted Asparagus)

On Friday, a recessed light in the middle of my kitchen went out.  I am short (5’4”).  I don’t have a ladder.  And I don’t know my neighbors.

Needless to say, I submitted a maintenance request on Sunday.  I knew they wouldn’t get the message until Monday.  And then they probably would get someone around to it by midweek or so.  I mean a light bulb isn’t an emergency by any stretch of the imagination.  The last time maintenance came (I had a leaking dishwasher), they called the day before to say they would be dropping by the following day.  I scheduled Callie for daycare and all was well.  I assumed they would do the same this time.

Well, I got home from work and saw the completed work order form on my kitchen counter with a note that said “Good Dog.  I left you an extra light bulb. -Ken”.  Oh boy.  I can only imagine the hell Callie put this poor man through.  She stands guard at our front door barking and growling at anyone who dares walk down the sidewalk.  She is not fond of strangers who suddenly approach her as many of my friends know.  It will only take a minute for her to warm up to you, but she will bark in fear and the hair on her back will rise until she realizes you are actually a nice person, particularly if you make strong eye contact with her.

So, just imagine this poor man, opening my front door and taking Callie by surprise.  I am impressed that he decided to come in at all!  But the extra light bulb is evidence that he doesn’t want to come back.

In other news, I signed up for a photography workshop that meets twice this month, and yesterday was our first day!  It was great!  The instructor taught us all about aperture, shutter speed  and ISO sensitivity.  We talked about “grey area” and depth.  Action shots versus still shots.  I learned so much!  And we actually have homework to do!  It was actually really fun to sit in a class again!  I am a school nerd at heart.  Here are some of the pictures I took from class:

DSC_0022 DSC_0024 DSC_0031 DSC_0034 DSC_0048 DSC_0053

In cooking news, I made this asparagus last week and it was DELICIOUS.  O.M.G. I probably could have eaten it as a meal in and of itself.  And maybe I did–no one will ever know =) Asparagus is by far one of my favorite veggies.

Tip of the Day: Ginger may ease pain and swelling after a workout.  Grate some into your lemonade and tea, or add it to stir fries, curries and vegetable sauces.

Tuscan-Style Roasted Asparagus

Tuscan-Style Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients

–          1 ½ lbs fresh asparagus, trimmed

–          1 ½ cups grape tomatoes, halved

–          3 tbsp pine nuts

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          2 garlic cloves, minced

–          1 tsp salt

–          ½ tsp pepper

–          1 tbsp lemon juice

–          1/3 cup grated Parmesan

Directions

–          Put asparagus, tomatoes and pine nuts on a foil-lined baking sheet.  Mix oil, garlic, salt and pepper; toss with asparagus.

–          Bake at 400* for 15-20 minutes or until asparagus is just tender. Drizzle with lemon juice; sprinkle with cheese.  Toss to combine

Courtesy of Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Callie!, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Callie Shenanigans (Recipe: Tuscan-Style Roasted Asparagus)

  1. Becca says:

    When I was in NY I had to change the batteries in my smoke detector. It was an old building with 10′ ceilings and I also didn’t have a ladder. Calling maintenance was a much better idea than a wobbly chair piled high with books! (In the end I bought a ladder.) Looking forward to hearing all about your photography class! What kind of camera do you have?

  2. Pingback: Study Finds that More Kids are Eating Fruit at School (Recipe: Lightened-Up Slow Cooker Chicken Wild Rice) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

