6+6+6=18 (Recipe: Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Roasted Brussels Sprouts)

That’s how many miles I ran today.  18-miler #2!  Because of the horrid sidewalk situation in Madison (remember how I told you we got more snow on Monday?), I decided to do a regular 6 mile loop of mine three times.  It goes along Lakeshore Path and through downtown before winding back up at my office.

Dave (my coworker training for Ironman) ran the first 12 with me.  But my mind totally wasn’t in it today.  Part of it was the cold.  It was 22* but weather.com said it felt like 8* outside.  Yuck!  But the rest of it was mental.  Your mind has to be there.  Your mind has to be ready.  I have known since Monday that I was doing my LR today because they have been calling for snow (again!) tonight, but I was definitely not mentally prepared.  My time didn’t suffer as much as I thought it might (I averaged 8:22 minute miles), and I got to do a nice hill series three times (“if you’re into that kind of thing” according to Dave).  For anyone who lives in Madison, the route goes up Observatory.  This was good prep for Boston.  Very good prep.

I have heard that your body can physically go three times the farthest distance you have ever run if you can overcome the obstacles in your mind.  Some runs make that harder to believe than others.

I followed my 18-miler with Restorative Yoga with Kim (I think that was the name of the class).  She had a “bring a non-member to class” day, so I got to join!  I am hoping it will help with the soreness I am likely to feel tomorrow from those hills!

Anyway, a good friend posted this little tidbit on the TV show Friends to Facebook, and I thought I would re-post it here because I think it is an EXCELLENT weekend for some Friends reruns.  Yes–I own all 10 seasons.  And, yes, I watched them all in order over Thanksgiving Break one  year while I was in college.  (We had a week-long Thanksgiving Break at Furman.)  I love Friends.  But isn’t this scary??  I mean it makes me feel so old:

Friends

In cooking news, I finally cooked this week!  In addition to Friends, I also love brussels sprouts!  Very different loves, I know.  I really did not discover this until recently, but I really like them!  So there may be a couple more brussels sprouts recipes coming your way in the future!  Be prepared!

Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Brussels Sprouts

Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 1 lb fresh brussels sprouts, ends trimmed and any yellowed/browned outer leaves removed, then sliced in half
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 tsp. Kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly-ground black pepper
  • 1 lb (16 oz.) pasta (I used egg noodles!)
  • 4 chicken sausage links (I used Spinach and Asiago!), sliced into 1/4″ thick coins
  • 5 cloves garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup pesto
  • 2-3 tablespoons pine nuts
  • Parmesan cheese, for serving

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  In a large bowl, mix together brussels sprouts, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, salt and pepper. Gently stir until well-combined.

Prepare a baking sheet with aluminum foil, then spread the brussels sprouts on it evenly.  Roast for about 20-30 minutes, stirring once partway through, or until they are crispy on the outside and cooked on the inside.  (My sprouts were smaller and only took about 15 minutes to roast.)  Remove from oven and set aside.

Meanwhile, heat the remaining olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the sausage and cook, turning occasionally, until nearly-browned, about 6-8 minutes.  Add the garlic, and continue cooking for another 1-2 minutes until the garlic is fragrant and the sausage is browned.

Cook the pasta according to the package directions.  Once the pasta is cooked, drain the water (reserving 1/4 cup pasta water), and then toss together the pasta, pesto, cooked sausage and garlic, and brussels sprouts.  Add in some of the reserved pasta water if needed for extra moisture.

Serve warm, and sprinkle with freshly-grated Parmesan cheese.

Adapted from Gimme Some Oven

This entry was posted in Individual Workouts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6+6+6=18 (Recipe: Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage and Roasted Brussels Sprouts)

  1. Ellie Green says:

    That picture is making me hungry!! Yum Yum!

Leave a Reply

