Callie AKA The Counter-Surfer (Recipe: Strawberry Gooey Butter Cookies)

First, it is amazing how quickly rain can turn to snow up in this neck of the woods!  When I went to the gym for my Power Stretch class yesterday evening it was raining.  An hour later when I emerged it was snowing, and quite a bit of slush had accumulated on the ground!  That makes for disgusting driving weather.  Can’t wait for spring!!

BTW, I love Power Stretch.  I started taking this class back in August and fell in love.  It is a combination of yoga, Pilates, balance challenges and stretching.  The only times I have skipped class were during my running class (the times overlapped) and when I have been out of town.  I just feel so much better after going!  Although, my calves/shins still felt a little wonky when I tried to run this morning, so I decided to just do the elliptical.

The only time I let myself read magazines is when I do the elliptical.  Therefore, during training my magazine pile looks like this:

IMG_2989[1]

It is getting a bit ridiculous.  This morning I was reading Runner’s World (a magazine that I thoroughly enjoy), and they had a list of the top half-marathons in the country.  The Madison Mini Marathon ranked among them!  It was a great race last year!  It was one of my first races after moving to Madison (I think the Waunakee 10-Miler may have been my very first)!  It was a great course, well-organized and had a fun after-party!  I’m definitely signing up again this year!

Funny story about the Mini last year.  Kim and I were going to run it together.  We had planned out our meeting spot (which was in front of the Union) and everything.  I was in the Porter Potty line and texted to say I’d be a few minutes late to the meeting spot.  When I got to the Union, I didn’t see Kim.  I waited.  The 5K started.  I waited. Then I thought maybe she was inside the Union, so I went in and looked around.  Then I thought maybe she had gone to look for me at the Porter Potties, so I ran back to the line. She was nowhere to be found.

The gun for the Half-Marathon went off.  I went back to the Union.  No sign.  (Apparently Kim had been running back and forth between the Union and Porter Potties, too, trying to find me!!)  Discouraged, I decided to start farther back in the corral hoping to find her.  Now, the Madison Mini was a bigger race–around 3,500 participants.  And guess what?  A mile into the race I caught up to her!!  Who would have thought!?  Anyway, the story was probably funnier at the time and if you heard one of us actually telling it.

Back to Callie and counter-surfing.  When I got home from the gym this morning, Callie was just lying on the sofa like usual.  Very innocently.  Looking very sleepy.  I walk into the kitchen to pour my cereal, and the loaf of bread that I had purchased the night before at Target was in the middle of the floor–half of it eaten; half of it still in the double-wrapped plastic packaging.  I must not have pushed it far enough back on the counter.  Really?  A half a loaf of bread??  Needless to say, that was Callie’s breakfast.  I took her to daycare today–hopefully she does not have any GI issues.

I really wish I had a video camera to watch what she does when I’m not home.  She doesn’t counter surf when I am there (probably because she knows I will yell at her), but she is definitely a curious rascal.  I need to make it a habit to push anything left on the counter as far back as possible.

Because I ate out so much over the weekend, I have been eating leftovers from the end of last week and the weekend, so I haven’t been cooking much “real” food lately.  I had planned on making these cookies for Valentine’s Day but totally ran out of time.  So, I made them for the Flyball team on Sunday.  I used strawberry cake mix (I know, I know…I usually make things from scratch, but I was in a wee bit of a hurry!), but you can really use any flavor!

Madame M said they looked like brains and so we decided that for Halloween I should make them with white cake mix and use green food coloring to make them look like the brain of the Hulk!  Haha.  She was a HUGE fan of these, though!  She put them on her list of baked goods she wants me to make again in the near future!  I hope you enjoy!

Strawberry Gooey Butter Cookies

Strawberry Gooey Butter Cookies (or any cake mix flavor!)

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 oz) block cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1 box (18.25 oz) Strawberry Cake Mix
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions

  1. In your mixer cream together the cream cheese and butter until smooth. Add egg and beat until combined.
  2. Turn mixer to low and slowly add in your cake mix. The dough will be thick.
  3. Refrigerate dough for about a hour or so, just enough so it’s not quite as sticky. Also, the colder the dough is the puffier your cookies will be.
  4. When dough is chilled preheat oven to 350°.
  5. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
  6. Place. powdered sugar in a small bowl
  7. Roll dough into balls about 1 inch in diameter, then roll in powdered sugar.
  8. Place about 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheet and bake for approx 10 minutes until centers are just set.
  9. Cool on wire rack

Courtesy of Cookies and Cups

This entry was posted in Callie!, Races, Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Callie AKA The Counter-Surfer (Recipe: Strawberry Gooey Butter Cookies)

  1. Pingback: “Reading Bikes” (Recipe: Garlic Bubble Loaf) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

