Week 8 Wrap-Up: Half-Way There! (Recipe: Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies, Take 3!)

We are half-way there, folks!  I can’t believe it!  Time has just flown!

55.99 miles this week!!  Woohoo!  My highest mileage week yet!  And it was a great week of running!  I got some outside miles in (22.95 miles), a great LR and some speed work!  I had a session with UW Sports Medicine, and my shins are finally feeling good!  (Knock on wood!)  The weather has warmed up a bit, although they are calling for snow this week again.  Ugh.  But I’ll make it through!

“A dream doesn’t become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work.” -Colin Powell

So true!  Here is a recap of this week’s runs:

Date Run Type Scheduled Length Actual Length Actual Pace (min/mile)
11-Feb Tempo 5 miles 5.05 miles 7:59 treadmill
11-Feb Fartlek total time = 20 minutes 2.65 miles 7:09-7:19 treadmill
12-Feb Easy Run 6 miles 6.02 miles 8:05 treadmill
13-Feb Easy Run 10 miles 5.11 miles 7:58 treadmill
4.87 miles 8:34 Lakeshore/downtown
15-Feb Long Run 18 miles 18.08 miles 8:18 Lakeshore/downtown/Midvale
16-Feb Reps 4 x 1600m 4 x 1600m 7:30 treadmill
17-Feb Easy Run 8 miles 8.11 miles 8:01 treadmill

Yesterday I made my first trip to Whole Foods ever!  I know, I know.  Rachel and I went to get a salad for dinner–DELISH.  Their salad bar is fantastic!  And free samples are everywhere!  I also could not resist their Carmelita Bar for dessert which I will definitely be having again.

For brunch we went to Pancake Cafe in Fitchburg.  I will give it 4 stars.  Good service, good food, good atmosphere.  My bacon wasn’t crispy (which is how I like it), but my eggs over medium were cooked to perfection!  And the bread they use for their wheat toast is AMAZING.  I would go back just for toast.  The hasbrowns weren’t bad either–I’m just not a huge hashbrowns fan.  Rachel and I also split a shortstack of their pumpkin pancakes.  I mean, how can you go to the Pancake Cafe and not order pancakes??  YUM.  Overall, lots of good food yesterday.

Last week (as in, sorry Flyball team I am not bringing these to practice) I made my third batch of Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies.  They weren’t bad, but not my favorite.  I still like the first recipe I posted the best.  But how can you go wrong with cookies?  Truth be told, I make almost all my cookies for the dough beforehand.  I can’t lie.

Workouts on the docket for Week 9:

Easy Run 10 miles
Easy Run 6 miles
Reps 5 x 1km
Easy Run 6 miles
Hills 8 x 300m
Long Run 18 miles

Enjoy your Sunday!!

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies (BEB)

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

– 1½ cups all-purpose flour

– 1 tsp cinnamon

– ½ teaspoon baking powder

– ½ teaspoon salt

– 1 cup (8 ounces) unsalted butter, softened but still cool

– 1 cup light brown sugar

– 1 cup granulated sugar

– 2 eggs

– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

– 1½ cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F; adjust oven racks to low and middle positions. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Whisk the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a small bowl; set aside.

3. Cream together the butter and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and then mix in the vanilla.

4. Stir in the flour mixture with a wooden spoon or a large rubber spatula, then stir in the oats and chocolate chips.

5. Using 2 heaping tablespoons per cookie, roll the dough into balls and place on the cookie sheets, spacing them at least 2 inches apart. Bake until the cookie edges are just turning golden brown, but the middles are still quite pale, about 12 to 14 minutes, rotating the sheets from front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool for at least 30 minutes. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Recipes, Weekly Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 8 Wrap-Up: Half-Way There! (Recipe: Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies, Take 3!)

  1. Pingback: Week 2: A Mini Italian Lesson (Recipe: Saucy Parmesan Chicken) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

