18 Miles–Done and Done. (Recipe: Monte Cristo Sandwich)

Yesterday I tackled 18 miles. 18.08 miles to be exact. All at one time.  And it was pretty cold.  (21*ish I think.)  But it felt great, and I ran pretty fast!  I averaged 8:18 minute miles. And it would have been faster except for ice (discussed more later) and traffic.

There were  a couple of lessons learned along the way.  Lesson Number 1: Know your nutrition. Gu Chomps get really hard and difficult to chew when cold.  Gu Chomps are what I take for nutrition on long runs.  And only the watermelon flavor.  They are like big gummy bears.  The consistency of gels (another type of nutrition) is not palatable to me.  But I can do the Gu Chomps.  Well, I can if it isn’t freezing outside.

I try to take nutrition every 6 miles.  The first round went pretty well.  But by the time I hit mile 12.5, the last of my Chomps were hard as rocks.  It was like they had frozen in my running belt.  I got less than half of my second round down before giving up.  And, yes, I wear one of these.  Although, I didn’t even drink any water during yesterday’s run. Oops! But the belts make it super easy to carry nutrition and water during runs!  I recommend them!

The first 12 miles I ran with a coworker who is training for Ironman, so we did most of the Ironman marathon route (which is a 13 mile loop that is done twice during the race). And then he mapped out what was supposed to be my last 6 miles.  I think he was trying to plan my running demise.  The sidewalk I was on for 1.5 miles was the iciest I have run on since being in Madison!  Literally, twice my feet almost flew out from under me!  Once I even had to grab onto the fence that was next to me to keep from falling.  Needless to say, I walked gingerly over these icy patches.  Not to mention, his 6 mile route was 1 mile short, and so I had to add on another mile at the end.  Lesson Number 2:  Plan your own running routes when you are unsure of conditions.  Although, I’m super thankful that Dave likes planning routes because he is usually very good at it!

Lesson Number 3:  Mittens are a lifesaver.  Particularly, Microfleece mittens from REI.  My friend, Ellie, told me about these mittens when I complained to her about how cold my hands got on runs.  I called the REI in Madison because the mittens were sold out online.  The woman on the phone proceeded to tell me how cold it had been in Madison (ummm, I’m well aware as I have been here); therefore, the mittens were all sold out.  BUT the Atlanta REI had like 20  pairs!  My sister lives in Atlanta!  Perfection.  She was a doll and sent me the mittens.  They are fabulous!  Thank you, Ellie and Kathryn!!

Overall, it was a great run!  I’m super pumped that my training is going so well.

In Callie news, her report card from Friday said she went on a “snowshoeing adventure”. Haha.  Well, she came home tired!  That’s all I ask for!

Rachel made it in last night!  (She actually beat me home…I know, I’m a bad friend.)  So, we went to Bluephies for dinner which was very yummy!  And spent tons of time catching up on life!

In cooking news, I made this delicious sandwich earlier this week. Sooooo good.  I highly recommend it.  The maple syrup drizzled on top is the perfect touch!

Tip of the Day:  If you’re wondering whether your running clothes are too revealing, the answer is yes.  But who cares??

Have a wonderful Saturday!

Monte Cristo

Monte Cristo Sandwich

(makes 4 sandwiches)

Ingredients

– 8 slices firm bread (a hearty French or Challah), sliced ½-inch to 1-inch thick
– 1½ cups whole milk
– 6 egg yolks
– 3 tablespoons light brown sugar
– 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted + 1 tablespoon for cooking
– 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
– ¼ teaspoon salt
– Dijon mustard
– 8 ounces sliced Virginia ham
– 8 ounces Gruyère cheese, shredded
– Maple syrup, for serving

Directions

1. If your bread is not yet dry, put it in the toaster on the lowest setting to dry it out.

2. Whisk together the milk, egg yolks, brown sugar, melted butter, vanilla extract and salt in a medium bowl. Pour the custard into a 9×13-inch baking pan.

3. Assemble the sandwiches by spreading a thin layer of Dijon mustard on each slice of bread. Top 4 slices with an equal amount of ham and cheese, and then top with the remaining slices of bread, pressing them together gently.

4. Set a 12-inch skillet over medium-low heat and melt ½ tablespoon of the butter.

5. Meanwhile, place the assembled sandwiches in the custard mixture for 20 seconds. Gently flip the sandwiches over and soak on the other side for an additional 20 seconds. Transfer two of the sandwiches to a baking sheet or tray.

6. Place the other two sandwiches in the skillet and cook until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes. Using a spatula, carefully flip the sandwiches and cook until the second side is golden brown, an additional 3 to 4 minutes. Remove the cooked sandwiches to a cooling rack or serving tray. Wipe out the skillet with a paper towel, melt the remaining ½ tablespoon of butter and repeat with the remaining two sandwiches.

7. Serve with maple syrup or fruit preserves.

Courtesy of Brown Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Nutrition, Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 18 Miles–Done and Done. (Recipe: Monte Cristo Sandwich)

  1. Pingback: Mix Up That Workout (Recipe: Dark Chocolate Frosting) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

