15-miler #2 and Economist Jokes (Recipe: Moroccan Stew)

Being an economist, I will admit that I am a little nerdy.  Last week I was talking with Madame M (also an economist) about my upcoming LR, and later that day she sent me a joke referencing the famous economist Keynes:

She said, in the future when you are dreading your LR, remember, J.M. Keynes said: “In the long run, we are all dead.”

Very true!  Well, I laughed when I read it.  And it is a good way to look at things.  The quote made me want to look up some more economist jokes about LRs:

– Question: What does an economist do?   Answer: A lot in the short run, which amounts to nothing in the long run.

– Abba Lerner: In the long run, there’s just another short run.

Anyway, I hope you find these as entertaining as I do!  And don’t worry, there will be more economist jokes to look forward to in future posts!

In actual running news:  This morning I woke up to this outside:

600517_715219587334_2050029073_n

ICE.  Not to mention cold.  As you can see, these sidewalks were not appropriately cleared for runners.  Well, they were not appropriately cleared for me.  So, what did I do? I went to the gym.  Yes, another treadmill run.

HOWEVER, Kim and I were signed up for the Valentine’s Day 5K, so I only did a little over 12 miles on the treadmill, and I ran the last 3 miles with her in downtown Madison. It was my first run outside all week!  And once we got moving, it was only the sudden gusts of wind that were bad.  The actual temperature was definitely not terrible–it was 23* and felt like 11* according to the internet.  And I was thoroughly impressed by the number of runners who turned out!  Some of them made me question their sanity when they showed up in shorts and/or sleeveless shirts.  Just my opinion.

The Valentine’s Day 5K was a race put on by the running club at UW–very low key and only cost $5 to enter.  $5!!  I think it has been my least expensive race yet!  AND we got gloves!  Because it is a low-key race, they don’t do chip times.  So, I think our time was somewhere around 29:16.  But it was just nice to run outside.

In Callie news, this is what she is like when she comes home from daycare:

DSC_0003 DSC_0005  EXHAUSTED. She went to Ruffin’ It Resort on Friday which she LOVES.  And they even gave her a cute Valentine’s Day bandanna!  Mom was excited!!

In cooking news, I made this Moroccan Stew with polenta!  Madame M’s husband made it for her when he was in town over MLK weekend.  I got to have a taste of his creation, and I deemed it the perfect winter stew.  You can totally add more veggies to it.  I was planning on stopping at the store on my way home, but Thursday we got a ton of sleet/snow/ice (yeah-that wintry mix stuff).  Needless to say, I used veggies I had at home.  But YOU should be creative with it!

Moroccan Stew

Moroccan Stew with Polenta

Spices:
1.5 tsp. ground cumin
½ Tbs. fennel seeds
1 Tbs. black peppercorns
1 Tbs. allspice
3 whole cloves
½ Tbs. coriander seeds
1 Tbs. grated, peeled fresh ginger root
1 tsp normal paprika
½ tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. turmeric

 Ingredients:

1 Tbs. olive oil
1½ cups chopped onions:  big pieces
3 cups peeled and chopped potatoes
1 small butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and chopped (I didn’t have one)
2 cups peeled, chopped carrots
2 cups chopped tomatoes
3 cloves garlic, minced (1 Tbs.)
4 cups water or vegetable broth
Salt to taste

Step 1: Mix all spices in a small bowl and keep them handy

Step 2: In deep sauce pan, heat oil, add ginger and garlic and saute for say 40 secs, add chopped onion and saute for say 1min, add all spices and saute for another min, add all veggies and make sure that they are completely coated by spices, add chicken or veggie broth and cook till  carrots are soft. add salt for taste. Takes 25-30 mins max.

Courtesy of Vipul

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 15-miler #2 and Economist Jokes (Recipe: Moroccan Stew)

  1. Becca says:

    I’m so impressed by your dedication! NYC isn’t nearly that cold, but I still can’t bring myself to run outside. And treadmills make me crazy!

  2. Pingback: Top 20 Fitness Trends for 2015 (Recipe: Starbucks Lemon Loaf) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

