Plié, Relevé and Arabesque, Oh My! (Recipe: Cheesy Pull-Apart Bread)

How in the world does standing on my tip-toes and lifting 2 pound weights fatigue my muscles so much??  I am a runner!  I should be able to do leg exercises all day long!  Yet, yoga barre classes make my legs shake like you wouldn’t believe!  I don’t feel quite as bad when I look up and down the barre and see that everyone else’s legs are shaking too…but still!  And I used to take ballet!  (And point.  And jazz.  And tap.  Yeah–I was really into dance for about 5 or 6 years.)  Granted that was years and years ago.

But yoga barre is definitely a good strength training workout.  I highly recommend it if you are looking for something to try out, and it is much more fun than just lifting weights at the gym.  You do tons of repetitions of small movements until your arms and legs feel like dead weight.  But it IS fun!  I promise!

Kim and I bought a GroupOn (Ohmygosh don’t you love those things?!?) for 5 yoga barre classes at The Studio downtown, and we have had so much fun taking them!  Tonight was our last one.  If joining The Studio or dropping in on classes wasn’t so expensive we would probably consider continuing.  That being said, we are waiting for them to offer another GroupOn.

Kim and I were going to make this cheesy bread for the Super Bowl.  However, I didn’t get to her place until half-time (Miss Callie had Flyball practice), I was super lazy and she had tons of great food already prepared.  Therefore, I felt that I deserved cheesy bread post-yoga barre class.  Don’t worry…I didn’t eat it all. Most of it is going to the office tomorrow.

Cheesy Pull-Apart Bread

Cheesy Pull-Apart Bread

Ingredients

– 1 large loaf or boule-style Italian bread
– ½ cup butter, melted
– 1 clove garlic, minced
– 8 ounces sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded (about 2 cups)
– 8 ounces Coby-Jack cheese, shredded (about 2 cups)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a sheet of heavy-duty foil with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.

2. Cut a cross-hatch pattern into the top of the bread by slicing ½-inch grid lines into the bread, stopping about ¼-inch from the bottom of the bread so that it stays together. Place the bread on the piece of foil that has been sprayed.

3. Stir together the melted butter and garlic.

4. Gently separate the bread with your fingers, then spoon the butter mixture in all of the seams, making sure it is evenly distributed among the whole loaf. Wrap the loaf up in the foil and place on a baking stone or directly on the oven rack and bake for 10 minutes.

5. Remove from the oven and increase the oven temperature to 425 degrees F.

6. Open the foil and sprinkle the shredded cheese on top of the bread. There will be a lot of cheese, so try to push down as much as you can in between all of the crevices in the bread. Leave the foil open and return it to the oven. Bake until the cheese is completely melted, bubbling and starting to brown on top, about 15 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving!

Adapted from Brown-Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Plié, Relevé and Arabesque, Oh My! (Recipe: Cheesy Pull-Apart Bread)

  1. Pingback: Toe Socks and Callie Report Cards! | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

