Signed up for the Shamrock Shuffle! (Recipe: Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars)

It is funny how small the world is and how random, yet important, connections are.  I had dinner with a friend the other night who is a law student at UW (Miss Kate), and we were discussing how she has been networking in DC.  Thinking back on our dinner, the only reason we met was because of a somewhat random connection.  Networks.

Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars1

I went to a small liberal arts college in Greenville, South Carolina–Furman University.  My freshman year I joined a sorority–Chi Omega. I made some of my closest friends during this period of my life.  One of these friends, Miss Hailey, decided to teach in Spain after graduation.  That same year Kate, a graduate from UW, also decided to teach in Spain.  The two became close friends.  Kate decided to go back to law school at UW.  During this time, I was going to grad school at Virginia Tech. Hailey got married in Alabama during the summer of 2010 (I think!?! I feel old because I can’t remember dates anymore!).  Kate and I both attended the wedding but were never introduced.

In February 2012, I interviewed for a job in Madison although I didn’t think it was going to be the right fit for me.  (I was keeping my options open!)  Too far from home and the firm didn’t do health economics.  Needless to say, after interviewing at several other places, I knew that I was going to choose Madison.  When Hailey found out I was moving so far from home, she put me in touch with Kate.  I distinctly remember Hailey telling me that she thought Kate and I would hit it off.  Kate was so welcoming and helpful even before I arrived in the city!  And here we are, kicking off Kate’s last semester of law school with dinner on State Street! All because of connections.

Kate is sitting in the same position I was a year ago–getting ready for graduation but not knowing quite where you are going to be.  She is so passionate about what she does that I know she is going to do great things!  I am so excited that I get to be a part of her journey!

During our many topics of conversation, Kate told me about Madison’s Shamrock Shuffle–a 5K and 10K held on St. Patrick’s Day!  She had already signed up, so I signed up today!  I love having races on the calendar to get excited about!  Especially when you get to run them with friends!  (Kate and I are doing the 10K!)  And Madison is THE running city.  There are always running events going on–pub runs with local running clubs, Destination Marathon training groups and loads of 5Ks, 10Ks and half-marathons!  This is one of the reasons I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Madison so far!  Great friends.  Great food.  Great job.  Great running.  And some of it only happened because of random connections. =)

In other news, we have an office pot luck on Friday.  More specifically, it is a Taco Bar Potluck.  Of course, I am bringing dessert.  And since the potluck falls on the first day of February, I decided to make these Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars.  I haven’t tasted them yet, but they sure look festive!

Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars2

Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars

Ingredients

  • 1 box Red Velvet Cake Mix
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 a stick) butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups mini marshmallows
  • 1 cup Valentine M&Ms

Instructions

1.  Preheat oven to 375.  Spray 9×13 pan with nonstick spray and set aside.

2.  In the bowl of a mixer, combine cake mix, butter, water and egg.  Mix on medium low until a smooth, thick batter forms.  Press batter evenly into pan.  Bake for about 20 minutes, until puffy and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Immediately top with marshmallows and candy — place back in the oven for a couple minutes, just long enough for marshmallows to puff up.

3.  Let cool completely before cutting and serving.

Courtesy of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

This entry was posted in Races, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Signed up for the Shamrock Shuffle! (Recipe: Red Velvet Marshmallow Bars)

  1. Pingback: 4th Annual Birthday Run! (Recipe: M&M Cookie Bars) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

