Coldest Run Yet! (Recipe: Granola M&M Cookies)

I left for my run this morning with the following expectations:

– 7 miles: would be great!

– 10 miles: would be fantastic!

– 12 miles: would be AMAZING!

I took Friday off completely, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect out of my shins (and calves for that matter–Thursday my calves were ridiculously tight.  Kim put into words exactly how I was feeling when she said, “It feels like my calf muscles were shortened by three inches.” We are blaming the boot camp class.) But I ran 12 miles with no pain!!  I am ecstatic!  I took it slow (or so I thought–averaged 8:12 pace) because there was a thin layer of snow on the sidewalks leftover from yesterday.  I had some hills.  And man was it COLD.  Holy cow!  My iPhone told me it was 9 degrees (not considering windchill) when I left my house which is probably the coldest weather I have ever done a training run in.  And the phone wasn’t lying!  It was FREEZING!  At least it was sunny!

I dressed appropriately–my GORE wind-breaking running tights and GORE long-sleeve top with an Under Armour long-sleeve underneath that.  But my hands…oh my God.  If ANYONE, and I mean ANYONE, has any suggestions for how to keep your hands warm while running outside in single digit temperatures, please impart your wisdom!  I would greatly appreciate it!  I own these Brooks gloves, but they aren’t making the cut.

I started out fine.  The wind was not fun, but I was managing.  And ever since I got injured, I am one of those runners who every couple tenths of a mile thinks, “Did I just feel pain?  Was that a twinge?  That didn’t feel right.” But I really think I should just stop thinking and just run.  I did an out-and-back course, so at the 3.5 mile mark (which would get me my “great” run) I decided to try for 5 because I was feeling good!  At the 5 mile mark (which would get me my “fantastic” run) my hands were getting a little tingly, but I knew I could do 12, so I went for another mile before turning around.  Around mile 6.5, I realized that my hands were pretty much frozen.  They hurt they were so cold, and I couldn’t get to my GU because I couldn’t maneuver my fingers at all.  I was extremely tempted at the 7 mile mark to go into the Walgreen’s to warm up my hands.  I told myself that I was being wimpy and that I needed to just keep running.

Well, around mile 8, I started thinking it was possible I was getting frostbite on my fingers (obviously not since I am now typing this blog), but that is how cold my hands were.  And it was all I could think about.  So, I did it.  At mile 9, I went into a Subway and just sat on my hands to warm them up.  I have NEVER stopped mid-run like this before.  EVER.  I don’t know how long I was in there.  Long enough that the couple sitting in the booth next to me finished lunch (the woman who looked to be about my age commented on how she loved my shoes–they are pretty awesome (the pink/purple/citron color)).  Long enough that 3 other people came in and ordered Subway.  And long enough that the Hispanic woman working there came over to me to ask if I was hurt or sick.  (Side Note: People in Madison are super nice!  Even the woman at the DMV was ridiculously bubbly and happy when I went to get my Wisconsin license back in July!)  At that point, I decided I had been there long enough and finished the last three miles.

Conclusion of the story:  I need to find a way to keep my hands warmer.  Other than that, my run would have gone seamlessly!  In fact, it was AMAZING.  Couldn’t be more pleased!

After my run and a shower, Anna and I went to what is officially my favorite brunch place in Madison: Lazy Jane’s.  I ate like there was no tomorrow, but it was worth every bite!  And the atmosphere is so cozy and welcoming!  Love it!

IMG_3639

Callie loves Anna and totally wanted to snuggle with her last night.  But Meanie Mom (me) didn’t let it happen.  In her crate she went!

Wanting to Snuggle

On the baking front–I haven’t baked in 8 days!  8 days! Can you believe it?!  That is the longest I have gone without baking in awhile!  The last thing I baked (on Friday, January 18th) was Granola M&M cookies–I have made them twice since the New Year.  I really like them–I added more granola the second time around and cut back on the M&Ms and chocolate chips.  Madame M says that they aren’t the best cookie I have made, but for some reason they just hit the spot.  SO chewy.  I don’t do crispy cookies.

Granola M&M Cookies

Granola M&M Cookies Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, plus one yolk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. milk
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup granola
  • 1 cup M&M’s (whatever kind you like)
  • 1 cup dark or semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until combined.  Set aside.

Using an electric mixer (with a separate bowl), cream the butter, sugar and brown sugar together with a mixer on medium speed until combined.  Add the eggs and yolks one at a time, beating between each addition.  Then add vanilla and milk, and continue beating.  Gradually add the dry ingredients until combined.  Stir in granola, M&Ms and chocolate chips until well blended.  Chill dough for at least an hour before you bake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Shape dough into balls, and bake for 9-12 minutes, or until slightly golden. (Mine were perfect at 11 minutes.)

Adapted from gimme some oven

This entry was posted in Callie!, Individual Workouts, Recipes, Running Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coldest Run Yet! (Recipe: Granola M&M Cookies)

  1. Ellie Green says:

    Mittens are a must! I went running on Tuesday… gloves=fail… Thursday… gloves=fail, then yesterday I put on some mittens [which allow your little fingers to work as a team to stay warm], my hands were… hot! Now it did go from being 18 degrees to 22 degrees on Saturday, but I have a feeling they would have kept me warm anyway.

    And if your hands do get cold, loosen your grip and rotate your wrists, that will help circulation a little bit too.

  2. Pingback: Holy Wind! And a Crazy Busy Weekend! (Recipe: Sweet Onion and Parmesan Dip) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

