Dance Party in Your Living Room? (Recipe: Baked Maple Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal)

Why, yes I will!  Thank you very much!  With Miss Callie, of course!

Because of the weather Callie has not gotten many walks in the last couple of weeks.  She goes to daycare.  She goes to Flyball.  She gets her ball thrown up and down the stairs.  And…she gets dance parties.

I am being 100% serious.  The last three nights we have put on Taylor Swift (yes, I listen to country music), turned the music up super loud and danced like crazies around my living room.  Yesterday, she let Mr. Duck participate with us.  (Callie is obsessed with this squeaky duck that Dogs Welcome (her daycare) gave her when she won second place in the costume contest.  (Yes, I dressed her up as a clown, and she looked darn cute! Picture will come in another post I’m sure, don’t worry!)

But everyone should try!  Even if you don’t have a dog!  Or if it isn’t below zero outside!  She and I are both breathing hard after 4 or 5 songs! It’s a great time!

In other news, I decided to run today.  I did an easy 4.25 miles on the treadmill (I had a 5 mile easy run on the schedule for this week).  And the pain was less than on Wednesday!  I take that as a good sign!  I am taking tomorrow off for sure as my high school bestie is getting into town late tonight (9:50pm-which is past my bedtime), so I won’t be waking up at the crack of dawn tomorrow (I really do wake up at 4:40am to go to the gym before work).  However, I am going to attempt a long run on Saturday!  The longer distances I haven’t logged up to this point are 7, 10 and 12 miles, so hopefully I will get one of those runs in!  And with minimal pain!

So, you all know that I love breakfast food (I think I have mentioned this before).  I totally made this Baked Maple Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal for dinner the other night.  Baked oatmeal!  Have you heard of it?  As in, I put it in the oven!  I had never heard of such a thing until Brown Eyed Baker posted it on her blog.  Delicious! I don’t think the picture does it justice!  I adapted her recipe, and I will definitely be making this again!  It would be yummy for a winter weekend breakfast as well if you aren’t a “breakfast for dinner” type of person!

Baked Maple Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal

Maple Cinnamon-Raisin Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients

2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (do not substitute quick oats)
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon fine sea salt
2 cups low-fat milk (anything from skim to 2%)
⅓ cup pure maple syrup
1 egg
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, divided
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1½ cups raisins, divided

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease an 8-inch or 9-inch baking dish; set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, stir together the oats, cinnamon, baking powder and salt; set aside.

3. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the milk, maple syrup, egg, half of the melted butter and vanilla extract.

4. Sprinkle 1 cup of the raisins in the bottom of the baking dish. Cover the raisins with the oat mixture, using a fork or spoon to spread it into an even layer. Slowly drizzle the milk mixture all over the top of the oats. Rap the baking dish on the counter a couple of time to disperse the milk among the oats. Sprinkle the top with the remaining raisins.

5. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal mixture is set. Remove from the oven and let sit for at least 5 minutes. Drizzle the remaining melted butter over top and serve.

Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

This entry was posted in Callie!, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dance Party in Your Living Room? (Recipe: Baked Maple Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal)

  1. Pingback: My Longest Run Since Boston (Recipe: Dutch Apple Pie Bars) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

