SOUPerb Saturday (Recipe: Broccoli & Cheddar Soup)

Yesterday was a busy but fantastic Saturday, and this morning I wrapped up week 4 of Boston training!  25% of the way there!

Upon waking up yesterday, I decided to do my long run instead of my fartlek because of the weather…today we have a high of 18 degrees!  Yesterday was a balmy 41, and I think it was around 35 degrees when I headed out in the morning.  I ran 10 miles, and they felt great!  No pain; I conquered some hills; I was happy with my pace.

As soon as I finished the run, I jumped in the car to meet a friend for yoga which was the perfect cool down!  The stretching felt amazing–forest yoga, who knew?  I had never heard of it!  Minus the semi-awkward comments about babies from the instructor and the tangled mess I was for the last pose, it was a fantastic class!  Followed by a delicious brunch and girl talk!  I couldn’t have asked for a better morning!  (Side Note:  Monty’s Blue Plate Diner has a really good breakfast sandwich, and their sweet potato hash looked super tasty as well!)

After going into the office for a bit, I came home to give some attention to Miss Callie and to make my soup for the soup-themed birthday party I was headed to in the evening.  17 soups!!  A feast!  Although, I think I only tried 3 because of socializing!  There was a wonderful mix of people, and I even met an older gentleman who had recently run Boston! It was so much fun to talk to him and his wife about running and tri’s and being active in Madison!  He made me even more excited for April 15!!  The party was a great success, and time flew by!

I concluded my training week with a fartlek run this morning.  Total miles this week:  36.61.  Last week, I ran 20.01 miles.  The miles are building up fast!

Here are the results of this past week’s runs:

Date Run Type Run Length Suggested Pace Actual Length Actual Pace (min/mile)
14-Jan Easy Run 5 miles 9:46 5.01 miles treadmill
15-Jan Reps 3 x 800m (2min 30sec recovery) 7:56 3 x 800m 7:35 treadmill
16-Jan Long Run 8 miles 9:44 8.03 miles 8:12 outside; Lakeshore Path/downtown
17-Jan Easy Run 7 miles 9:46 2.36 8:28 treadmill
1.15 8:24 treadmill
5.06 8:37 outside; dowtown; T & D
19-Jan Long Run 10 miles 9:44 10.01 miles 8:05 McKee Road/Fish Hatchery
20-Jan Fartlek total time = 20 minutes 20 minutes 7:13-7:19 treadmill

Here are the runs on the docket for Week 5:

Long Run 12 miles
Easy Run 4 miles
Tempo 4 miles
Easy Run 8 miles
Reps 4 x 1 mile
Easy Run 5 miles

And you may need some warm soup to get through these next few chilly days if you are up north!  Here is the recipe for the Broccoli and Cheddar soup that I took to the party!

Broccoli & Cheddar Soup

Broccoli-Cheddar Soup

–          2 tbsp EVOO

–          1 medium onion, finely chopped

–          2 cups low-sodium chicken broth (or vegetable broth if making vegetarian)

–          2 cups half-and-half

–          1 pound russet potatoes, peeled and chopped

–          1 pound sweet potato, peeled and chopped

–          1 bay leaf

–          Salt and pepper

–          2 cups chopped broccoli florets

–          1 1/3 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

–          Croutons for topping

–          Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the chicken broth, half-and-half, both potatoes, bay leaf, 2 cups water, 1 tsp salt and ¼ tsp pepper and bring to a boil.

–          Reduce the heat to medium low and simmer until the potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, put the broccoli in a microwave-safe bowl; add 3 tbsp water and season with salt.  Cover with plastic wrap and microwave until crisp-tender, about 4 minutes; drain.

–          When the potatoes are tender, remove the bay leaf from the soup and transfer the soup to a blender.  Puree until smooth, leaving the filler cap slightly open to let steam escape.  Return the soup to the pot and thin with water, if necessary.  Return to a simmer over medium-low heat; stir in the broccoli and season with salt and pepper.

–          Add the cheese and stir until melted.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Weekly Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SOUPerb Saturday (Recipe: Broccoli & Cheddar Soup)

  1. Pingback: A Post on Feet (Recipe: Midwest Chowder) | Oven Lovin' Runnin'

Leave a Reply

