No Bones About It! (Recipe: Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake)

Dogs are smart.  Well, some dogs are smart. My dog is smart.

Today I am going to tell you a little story about my BC named Callie.  Now, Callie is my baby.  She KNOWS she is my baby, and I think she uses this to her advantage to get what she wants.  (Yes, I believe she is that smart.) She has a personality like you wouldn’t believe!  She is persnickety (is this even a real word?) and sassy and a princess!  But I love my LRD (Little Red Dog).  And, yes, she is a red-head.  She is not “brown”.

My spoiled girl.

My spoiled girl.

Callie is pretty well-trained.  She has her faults.  She does not like children at all (we are working on this).  She does not like men at first (particularly the tall ones with facial hair and hats).  She pees a little when she gets excited (like whenever she sees the Williams-Osting’s–and she does this with them EVERY time–I apologize to you both).  She barks at other dogs who get walked past our townhouse (a very good guard dog).   But she will do pretty much anything for food.  And this is where the real story begins.

Last week I came home around 2 to let Callie out.  She has the run of the house when I’m gone, and I leave the television on for her.  I usually come home to her sprawled on the sofa watching Jeopardy or ESPN.  This afternoon was no different.  She pottied, and we played tug, and I threw the ball up and down the stairs a few times. (I have resorted to the stairs as a form of exercise when it is bloody cold in Madison.)  Then I went back to work followed by yoga barre with a friend.  I arrived home around 7:30, and Callie greeted me at the door immediately rolling over onto her back (=submissive).  An immediate hint that something was not right.  Then I rounded the corner and there in the middle of the living room floor was her plastic container of “gourmet bones” that her grandmother had given her for Christmas (and, yes, I refer to my parents as Callie’s grandparents even though my parents HATE it).

The container had six bones left in the bottom.  That would have meant she ate 18 bones.  18!  BUT what dog leaves SIX bones in the container?  A dog who ate one too many in my opinion.  I would like to mention that I still have no idea how she got the container of bones off of a counter over waist-high in the kitchen (and they were NOT close to the edge), onto the tile kitchen floor without the container opening and spilling and into the living room before taking the lid off of the container.  I still have no idea how it was done, and to this I give her credit.  But not as much credit as to what happened next.

Of course Callie had GI issues from all of these bones which put her on a limited diet for several days.  Two nights after she had done the deed she looked at her measly 1/4 cup of dry dog food, looked up at me with a “This is it?” annoyed expression, ate her food and promptly trotted upstairs.  I did what any normal mother would do-I followed.  And to my surprise she emerged from my closet with one of the bones!  The little rascal had not eaten all 18 bones but hid some for later!  Inside a laundry bag in the corner of my closet no less! Even with her GI issues, I couldn’t take the bone away because I was so impressed.

Anyway, I found one other bone hidden in the laundry bag.  I haven’t found any others, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t there.  Silly little dog.  She definitely keeps me entertained!

On another note, one of my friends at work had a birthday today!  So, of course, I made a cake!  Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake to be exact.  It was gone from the office kitchen in about 45 minutes and I got several compliments on it.  I think it will be added to the list of recipes to try again.  This “list” will be another story later down the road.  As for now, here is the recipe for the cake if you’d like to try!

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake_piece Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake_whole

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake 

4 ounces, or 1/2 block, cream cheese, at room temperature
1 cup butter, at room temperature
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
5 eggs, at room temperature
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups cake flour
Powdered sugar for dusting

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Heat the oven to 325 F and spray a 10 inch bundt or tube pan thoroughly  with non-stick spray.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream together the butter and cream cheese on medium speed until completely combined and lighter in color, about five minutes.  Add the sugars and cream for another five minutes on medium speed.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition, about one minute.  Add the vanilla and mix to combine.  The mixture may look slightly curdled at this stage.

In a medium bowl sift both flours, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Once sifted whisk to make sure the ingredients are evenly mixed.

Add the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk, starting and ending with the flour.  Do not over-mix.  Pour the batter evenly into the prepared pan, tapping the pan lightly on the counter to loosen any large air bubbles and to settle the batter into the pan.

Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until the cake springs back when gently pressed in the center, and it starts to pull away from the sides of the pan.  Cool in the pan for 15 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Dust with powdered sugar, and serve with whipped cream if desired.  Enjoy!

From EvilShenanigans

This entry was posted in Callie!, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

