MFR–one of the best things since sliced bread! (Recipe: Not-So-Fudgy Brownies)

A couple of posts ago I mentioned how I am trying to overcome shin splints.  Well, ladies and gentlemen, I give my highest compliments to those who perform MFR–myofascial release. [side note: I am a HUGE fan of acronyms–anyone who attended Furman University would have to be; otherwise, you would have transferred…enough said.]

O.M.G. Today I had my second session and can say that I am more than a little obsessed. MFR is a deep tissue treatment that works the soft tissue (the fascia) which protects the body’s muscles among other things.  In my case, the fascia in my shins, calves and around the IT-band have become restricted from overuse which decreases blood flow and causes inflammation. The practitioner uses pressure to release the tension and stretch the fascia. The next day you will feel sore just like when you have had a tough workout because in effect your fascia has had a tough workout!  There was just no sweating involved!

After my first session, I went from barely being able to run two miles without having pain in both calves and shins to having only minor pain in the lower part of my right shin. During my second session, the practitioner told me that the abrasions on my shins went from “walking on pebbles to walking on a sandy beach”.  You can literally feel the abrasions in your shins as the tissue is being worked! It was insane! Needless to say, I am a HUGE fan and have already recommended MFR to several of my running friends!

On another note, my sister got a new job!  Yay!!  We are so excited for her!  And this one is less than 3 miles from her house compared to 34 miles for her last one! Now my parents can go back to having joint custody rather than full custody of Winston, my sister’s Golden Doodle puppy =)

I sent my sister these brownies courtesy of a Food Network recipe; however, I wasn’t super impressed…which only means I will have to send her more to make up for these less than stellar ones…if you would like to try your hand at the recipe and see if you have better luck, let me know!

Fudge Brownies (FN)

(Not-So) Fudgy Brownies

– Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Line a 9×13 pan with foil and then coat with cooking spray (make sure to leave an overhang!)

– Melt 2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips and 1 stick of butter in a saucepan over low heat, stirring.

– Off the heat, whisk in 3/4 cup each light brown sugar and granulated sugar; cool slightly.

– Whisk in 4 eggs, one at a time, and 1 tsp vanilla.

– Stir in 1 cup flour and 1/2 tsp salt.

– Stir in 1 cup of chocolate chips.

– Spread in the pan and bake 45 minutes.  Cool completely on a rack before cutting into squares.

Adapted from The Food Network

This entry was posted in Recipes, Stretch & Strengthen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

