Tempo Time!

Yesterday, I ran my first tempo run of this marathon training session!  Three miles averaging 8:15 pace!

You may be about to google ‘tempo run’, but no worries!  I’ll explain!  A tempo run is an anaerobic threshold run at a pace that is usually 25-30 seconds per mile slower than your 5K race pace.  The length can vary depending on the type of race you are training for but is usually a minimum of 20 minutes.  Often you will begin your run slower (I started running at an 8:40 pace) and then speed up and maintain that speed until your cool down.  Tempo runs can be either by time or by distance (ie., a 30 minute tempo run OR a 3 mile tempo run).

You will see that in the training program I am following, tempo runs are by distance, and they will gradually increase over the coming weeks.  I was so excited because I had very minimal pain during this run!  I am hoping my progress continues!  I still have yet to run outside in the Wisconsin winter (my runs have been on the treadmill until this point), but I am thinking that will change this weekend!

I did bake this bread which was from The Food Network’s “Copy That” section of their magazine–it is the bread from Cosi.  The bread was pretty good, but I didn’t think it was worth the effort and time it took to make!  Better luck next time!

Cosi Bread

This entry was posted in Food Picture (No Recipe), Individual Workouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

